1. Shuttle 40L Convertible Backpack Cargo

Shuttle 40L Convertible Backpack Cargo

Now $129.98
or 4 easy payments with

or 4 easy payments with
Shuttle 40L Convertible Backpack Cargo is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 114.
  • y_2021, m_7, d_28, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_106
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_40695_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 277.39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Use it three ways

When you need a versatile bag for different activities, invest in our latest Shuttle Cargo. With 40 litres capacity and a super adaptable three-way harness, you’ll have the option to carry it as a backpack, duffle or shoulder bag. The Shuttle will transition from a carry-on bag to an adventure-ready pack with ease.

Dimensions
H 60cm x W 32cm x D 24cm

Fabric
Main: Nylon 840D JR Ballistic 2xPU
Trim: Nylon 840D JR Ballistic 2xPU
Lining: Polyester 135D 2xPU

Weight
800g

  • Adjustable three-way harness – carry your Shuttle as a duffle bag, backpack or shoulder bag
  • Luggage style opening – central u-shaped zip so you can easily find what you need
  • Lockable zips so you can keep your gear secure
  • Dual compartments and an inner mesh pocket
  • Grab handle and an outer side pocket
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flexible & Veritile The bag has met the requirement to be both a backpack & carry bag. When using, the additional storage pockets have been a gem
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very useful. I got my backpack a few weeks ago. I purchased it for work. I carry a lot of gear, like, wet weather clothing, high vision jackets etc. Secondly, I use it for weekends away. It can carry everything I need. It's an excellent backpack.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minimalist design at its best! Great travel bag If you want a versatile travel bag, one you can take to the gym, to basketball, for a few days trip with several change of clothes, toiletries, equipment, an extra pair of shoes, etc, then this is the bag for the job. It is a hybrid between a backpack and a sports bag aka cargo bag or duffle bag. It can be carried close to the body as a backpack with sturdy, breathable, comfortable straps. Releasing the two top buckles and straps move to the middle and you can just grab them (or use the integrated handle) and it becomes a sports bag or shoulder bag. It also comes with two thin but sturdy handles on top and bottom, very useful indeed. While I prefer meatier handles, they are true to minimalist design. I am amazed how often I use them. There is also a little velcro to neatly fold away excessive strap on each shoulder strap. LOVE!! Someone has put a lot of thought in the design of this bag! Easy access Unlike rucksack or backpack, you don't have to pull out everything to get to the bottom. The opening to the main compartment is on the back. Opening it up, you can see everything inside which is great for organisation and access. Get a few organiser bags, like the Kathmandu Packing Cell Classic bags, and you can section the bag. So versatile, so convenient! Just the right size With capacity, I prefer 40L over larger (say 75L) rucksacks because the latter encourages you to over pack. Whilst the larger hardcore trekking bags may have superior padding, breathability, frame, compression strap to reduce bulk, pocket for water bladder, etc, they end up being heavy. Got to ask yourself, "Do I really need everything?" Even the empty bag ends up 2x or more heavier than the Kathmandu Shuttle Cargo V4 which is 800g empty. It is not a fold up shopping bag but it certainly feels that way given how much useable space it has! Not for mountaineering It is not for trekking or mountaineering, you don't want to have to carry this on your back for hours at a time with lots of heavy load inside. There are no channels for air flow nor does it have breathable mesh despite the back flap is padded. There is no frame so if you have hard irregular shaped items inside, it can dig into your back. It doesn't have sternum strap or hip-belt either. Of course a sternum strap can be easily added such as with Op/tech mini QD straps. Just the right number of compartments and pockets There is no opening from the front to the main compartment hence it is ultra safe. Fantastic! A large top compartment which is misleadingly large because it can go into the body of the bag. It can easy fit a pair of shoes inside plus thongs, slides and/or slippers. Both zippers are lockable. There is also a decent side pocket for documents and pens on one side. Inside, there are two internal pockets, a 9cm x 20cm keys pocket which lies flat and not expandable hence it is small, complete with a keyring hook. There is also a 20cm x 20cm mesh pocket in the main compartment right under the top pocket which again lies flat but fairly large because of how flexible this section is. Altogether 2 compartments, 1 exterior pocket and 2 internal pockets. That's it! You might want more bags but this is precisely the strength of this bag, what makes it so versatile. If you need more space up the top, it will eat into the space of the body and vice versa. Likewise with the mesh pocket, it eats into the top compartment if you want to fit more into the mesh pocket. It is alchemy! “Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of equal value must be lost. That is alchemy's first law of Equivalent Exchange..." Colour choices The bag comes in grey (so called granite marble) or black. Some time ago, it came in red too. I bought the black version with blue inside and buckles. The granite marble version is much more marble than granite. To me granite is almost black! But this granite marble is more light grey! It's colour is more neutral because buckles, straps and zips are black but it is a big lump of grey. The fairly large Kathmandu print on each side is white so they don't scream nearly as loud as the black version I have, good for you if you mind being a walking advertisement for Kathmandu. I don't! Frankly I am happy to parade a good brand and product. With the black version, I don't mind the blue interior, blue buckles however look at bit off despite they do complement the interior. I think I can live with that. Kathmandu, why not have grey interior and black or grey buckles? Materials The fabric is strong 840D ballistic nylon, heavier and with highest tensile strength than CORDURA or ripstop nylon Kathmandu employs. But it has the least abrasion resistance of the three. Frankly, abrasion resistance is definitely a good thing but it depends on Denier rating and weave as well. Best bang for you buck Kathmandu Shuttle Cargo V4 cost half of the next equivalent sized backpack ($120 vs $240). You would think that ripstop may be more costly. Interestingly, the cargo bag Kathmandu Pocket 40L Cargo is 60% cheaper ($48 vs $120). Like most Kathmandu products, good quality colour matched YKK zips are used throughout. Gregory Compass 40 There is one backpack that look really similar called Gregory Compass 40. It can't convert into duffle bag, the top compartment is at the bottom and it has laptop compartment and breathable back padding for comfort plus sternum strap. But it is about the same price as recommended retail price of the Kathmandu Shuttle Cargo V4. I bought the Kathmandu bag at 40% off. I might have bought the Gregory Compass 40 if it was at the same or similar price. After all, I don't really need a three-way harness. I am sure I am not going stick to backpack configuration permanently. Specific for my use case, I do prefer the top compartment to be on the top rather than bottom like the Gregory Compass 40. Verdict I give the Kathmandu Shuttle Cargo V4 4 stars out of 5. Would prefer black buckles, thicker top and bottom handles (unreasonable ask), more abrasive resistant materials and larger mesh pocket inside the top compartment and integrated rain coat that can be stored away in a pocket in the bottom. Don't get fooled by some of the pics at the Kathmandu site, the bags inside are not included. They look like Kathmandu Packing Cell Classic bags. Whilst I haven't done it yet, I picture throwing this backpack into my luggage because of how flat it is so I have an extra carry on or checkin luggage if required. Most popular Kathmandu bag I love this backpack. Don't take my word for it. I haven't looked at all Kathmandu bags but of the 30 or so I looked at (pretty much all the hiking, travel and cargo bags), this has the 2nd largest number of reviews and the highest average rating. The only bag that has more reviews is the Litehaul 38L Carry-On Pack with 108 reviews at 4.6. Kathmandu Shuttle Cargo V4 has 103 reviews at 4.8. The next highest number of review is 33, then 30, etc. Amongst all the feedbacks for the Kathmandu Shuttle Cargo V4, the worst feedback is 3 from one person who didn't like to be a walking billboard for Kathmandu. The branding is only 2cm x 12.5cm. It could have been much bigger. Have you seen those Superdry backpacks?
Date published: 2020-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect carry on pack I bought this for my father as ee travels alot and we only ever do carry on luggage. Love it's a pack but it opens from the front so you don't have to empty the whole pack to find something at the hottim
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for carry on I already have a red Shuttle 40l which has been used for Travel both domestic and international - just the right size. We bought this grey one for my wife and she loves it. Could do with more colours though instead of just the conservative black and grey.
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light , compact and perfect fir long or short haul I bought this to use as my main luggage for a 6 week trip to the UK(Scotland and London ) and Italy ...Im limited by previous surgery as to how I can carry weights and for how long , so the carry bag/backpack option works well .Only wish it had wheels too to allow dragging !
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spacious I’ve only used my bag once since I bought it but was really surprised by how much I could fit in it, especially when using the packing cubes. I love that it’s so light, so perfect for domestic flights now that the airlines are more strict with the weight of carry-on. Looks good too!
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great carry on bag. The guy at customs loved it, said it was it new favourite bag, it was so easy for him to open and search. Lightweight and easy to carry/wear. A nice addition would be a waist strap to take some of the weight off your shoulders when it's fully loaded. Being flexible it squashes into smaller spaces in the overhead locker on the plane and you can pack loads of stuff into it, you just have to watch the weight if you're using it for carryon. The top pocket is handy for things you want accessible while you're travelling/flying.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great traveling pack I bought this pack a few months ago before my trip to France and found it hard to find a flaw in it. Having the main zips on the side that goes against the back gave me extra comfort that I would be less likely to be robbed. As a bag that was the maximum size allowed for a carry on for a airoplane I found it quite versitile as it was big enough to pack enough stuff for a overnight trip without having to pay for a extra bag. I am the sort of person that likes lots of compartments in backpacks but I found the 3 small compartments plus the main body of the bag adequite to fulfil my needs and find what I needed as long as I had put it in the right place.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect carry on and around. We got 4 of these for the family and went with only these on a trip around the world. Never had a problem on the planes,trains, buses etc travelling. Ended up walking with them on our backs for plenty of days. Sometimes they can get a bit hot on your back was the only complaint from us or the kids. We each had a lock on the main compartment when travelling through busy cities and made sure our valuables (I.e passports) were tucked away. Highly recommend especially for planes and trains easy to get into overhead storage. Pity our youngest was a little too short to walk comfortably with one.
Date published: 2019-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for holiday with lots of moving about I’ve been on and off of buses, trains, planes and vaporetti over the last two weeks and this has been the perfect bag to travel with. Easy to move around with, throw around and hold on to. Comfortable however you hold it and has the right number of zips and pockets. Also love how tidy it looks.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So versatile Love the way you can tote this bag around like a gym bag or, if you need both hands, convert it quickly and easily to a backpack - genius!!
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I have used this for a month. Nice and light. Easy to carry over one shoulder or as back pack. Fits easily into boat cubby, so will be good for carry on. Has a secure place to store passports etc. also looks great.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and functional Looking for a just the right sized travel bag. I saw this. Looked functional and was light so I bought 2. One for each of us. Most impressed with the shoulder straps for general travel conditions.
Date published: 2019-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bag I bought this as a cabin bag for flights. Went away for a weekend and was pleasantly surprised how much I could fit into this bag. I'm very pleased with this sturdy, attractive bag.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the right size The 40l size is perfect for going away for a couple of days with all you bits and pieces. The pockets have great functionality..
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, light international carry on! I bought the Kathmandu Shuttle in the grey colour to use as International carry on luggage. I love that this bag is light & the backpack straps can be joined together to carry it as a duffle bag. I use packing cells to organise my things when travelling, so I wanted a bag without all of the organisational pockets. I love that this bag is fairly simple with the minimum of pockets, making for a larger internal compartment. It would also make a great gym bag as there's also an end pocket that you could put joggers in.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and strong Brought this a few weeks ago for my daughter for school. So far has been excellent, fits everything in and comfy to carry
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a short trip! I bought this almost a month ago for a week's trip to Queenstown. It was great as carry-on luggage, and was able to carry everything that I needed. The many compartments made it really easy to organize and quickly access things that I needed, plus it didn't feel heavy on my back. I appreciated that there were several ways to carry it for versatility as well!
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allrounder bag Excellent bag, I was contemplating between this bag and another. This was a good choice. I use this everyday for gym, work and just a normal day. Great to use a carry on when travelling overseas.
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another great Kathmandu product Another great Kathmandu product... great bag for carry on luggage and then used as a day bag as well. could do with a bit firmer base as did bend when fully packed but not overweight. Am going to try to fix this myself. Will certainly be using this one a lot!!
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, eye catching and very practical Bought this when travelling overseas and used this primarily as my cabin bag (800gms) and also used it to carry my travel documents and tickets (side pocket). The top pocket housed a spare shirt, travel kit (tooth brush, paste,shaver) and mobile charger. Was extremely useful at airports and was a joy to not open the entire bag to take them out. Once at the destination, was very handy for smaller day trips as well. Good quality, caught a few glaces and a good buy. It however did tend to get a bit hot on my back, when using it as a back pack. Needs a bit of aeration or breathable fabric. Otherwise top class bag. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great size for travelling light I bought this a few months ago for my European/UK Adventure. I am trying to be a light traveller. Started putting s few things in it. Tried on and discovered no chest or waist strap. Am wondering if i can get some attached? I think it will be very bad on my back after 2 months.
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shuttle 40L Convertible Another great bag for carry-on or one-bag travelers. I purchased the black cargo/backpack and am happy with the design and the amount you can fit in it! When I first tried it on as a backpack I was a little disappointed. The straps aren’t the most comfortable but if you’re only using the backpack mode to scoot through airport terminals then it would be bearable. The main section of the bag holds stacks of gear & the zippers are hidden against your back which makes it appealing to savvy one-bag travelers looking for additional security. Not the best convertible bag out there but a solid practice bag none the less.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing versatile bag I have had this bag for nearly 3 years now and it has been on many overseas trips. It is showing no signs of wear. It is very versatile and convenient with the straps being able to be converted from carry to backpack easily. The top pocket is excellent for storing the Kathmandu toiletry bag, it fits perfectly with a little extra room spare and makes it easy to pull out without having to pull the bag apart to get to it. I love the zip/opening on the strap side of the bag for added security and the fact it opens up fully to expose the full inside contents of the bag. I use mine with 2 medium and 2 small packing cells and it still has room for shoes etc. Great purchase price (I think I paid $80 for mine) and would highly recommend this bag. Con. It can be a little uncomfortable with 10kg or more using the bag as a backpack for long periods of time though I am not using the bag for hiking for hours on end and it suits my purpose fine.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it is really easy to travel with. So happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A versatile bag, clever design. Happy with the product, might want to add a small padding to secure a laptop otherwise good product.
Date published: 2018-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great quality bag I bought this as a Christmas gift. Great value for money. N
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great size I’ve had this bag for about a year now and the size is great, you can pack quite a lot in here. My friend used it for a month of travelling and was able to fit all she needed. The zip being at the back is good for security. There are a couple of things that I think need improvement, first of all it does need a waist strap, being 40L it can get quite heavy and it needs to be more secure on your body. Second, where the straps sit on your shoulders they dig in a bit and can cut off your circulation a bit if the bag is heavy. Aside from those I think it’s a great bag and has had a lot of use. It’s also great for carry on when flying.
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bag but bit pricey! This bag is a great size for a multi day getaway. It is very light and can be strapped to your back or held. Quality seems good.
Date published: 2018-10-03
  • y_2021, m_7, d_28, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_106
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_40695_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 238.17ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;