1. Comet Water Repellent Down Sleeping Bag

Comet Water Repellent Down Sleeping Bag

Kathmandu offer bags in the following sizes:
  Mummy Semi-Rectangular Rectangular
Small 72cm x 197cm    
Regular 70cm x 206cm 72cm x 211cm< 76cm x 211cm
Large 72cm x 220cm 74cm x 225cm 78cm x 225cm
Mummy

Mummy bags, with their wider cut shoulders and narrow feet are the most efficient when it comes to weight and warmth. These bags conform more closely to your shape and only require minimal body heat to warm up. They encase you ‘like a mummy’ and may be restrictive and less roomy than other bags.

Semi-Rectangular

Semi-Rectangular bags with their tapered foot (more room than the Mummy) and contoured hood are a good compromise. These bags provide ample sleeping space at the torso for comfort.

Rectangular

Rectangular types offer more space and are cooler than others, letting you move easily within the bag. Because of the larger top opening, heat can escape more easily.

View sizing guide
$299.98
Members Price $179.99
or 4 easy payments with
Comet Water Repellent Down Sleeping Bag is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 33.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_12, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_30
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_51224_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 319.33ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Warm nights

When you need to be light and fast, choose our Comet Sleeping Bag. A compact down mummy bag that's ideal for summer hiking or travel. Constructed with game changing natural down with a water repellent treatment that retains its insulation – even when it gets wet.

Part of our pack&GO solution.

Temperature 

Comfort Level Celsius Fahrenheit
Comfort 11 51.8
Transition 6 42.8
Risk -6 12.2

Dimensions
Regular L 210cm x Shoulder Width 77 cm x  35cm Foot Width
Large L 223cm x Shoulder Width 82cm x  39cm Foot Width

Fabric
Outer
Outer 30D 385T DWR Nylon Ripstop
Inner 30D 345T Nylon taffeta inner
Fill 600 loft, 80/20 Duck Down & Feather

Weight
Regular  0.61kg
Large 0.72kg

  • Water repellent DownTek fill – which maintains its insulation even when wet
  • Efficient mummy shape
  • Ultra-compact
  • Durable rip-stop shell
  • Designed for warmer climates
  • Draw-string hood for added warmth
  • Need a down care cleaner to keep your down gear immaculate?

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sleeping bag! I picked this one up on special ahead of a camping trip and it was great, very comfortable on a 15 degree night, I usually sleep a bit hot but it was perfect, comfortable all through. I paired it with the Kathmandu silk liner for added longevity and it was perfect! Highly recommend it and I’m looking forward to using it again soon!
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact and lightweight As aircrew I use this during in-flight rest. With a slightly lower crew rest temperature its perfect. I am 6ft 2 so the larger version has provided me plenty of room.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly as described! I bought this sleeping bag a month ago and have recently used it on a camping trip which included a hike. It was small when in its stuff sack and kept me warm enough even on an 8 degree night.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my daughter Light weight, good quality and excellent for our camping trip
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is not warm enough for serious camping I have been using this sleepbag for almost a year now in different season. I love the size and weight, but it is just not warm enough for most seasons. The only time I can use it without adding any liners is summer. The place I camp are mainly alpine victoria though, so the termperature in any season is not very high. When the temperature goes down to below 15 degrees, it is not warm enough and most of the time I have to warm thermal, or add a liner. if it gets around 8-10 degrees, I will need to add a fleece liner. I would not recommend this product as I myself are going to update mine. I could not get much of use out of it when I am doing serious hiking and camping.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from camping gear i boudget this camping gear, trver gear is very good.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light and compact I have been using this bag the last two summer seasons working in the outdoors in the Marlborough Sounds area. Given its loft and thermal rating it is great for November through till March for sleeping out in the hills. Takes up very little room in a pack and is reasonably light. Coupling it with a thermal liner or an extra layer is plenty for slightly cooler nights. Is great as a summer bag.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not warm enough I bought this to go on a school camp during April in Sydney, the sleeping bag was definitely not warm enough. Great size, but definitely would not buy it again and will be looking for another sleeping bag for winter.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I love how small and compact this sleeping bag is, and fits me in perfectly when its folded out... and 6''4
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small and Lightweight Bought 2 of them for my wife and myself and love them! One of the smallest sleeping bag I've seen, extremely light and really comfortable. Perfect for backpacking in the wilderness.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Present Time This item xmas gift for a child,still waiting for xmas day
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small and warm. Used for bikepacking and staying in DOC huts. Packs down nice and small; room to move when sleeping; warm enough for the DOC huts we stayed in (snow outside but fire on inside).
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from warm enough ? it appears there is more fill on the top orange section ie hardly any in the bottom at all- although shouldn't matter in theory cause warmth will be from sleeping mat this might be deliberate to save weight and size - but they don't say that as product feature some other bags are designed that way deliberately I'm only luke warm with the effectiveness of this bag i would only recommend if you realise u will sometimes need to wear clothes as well - which is OK
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lightweight sleeping bag Nice quality, but quite lightweight. The hood is very helpful.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I bought this bag on special. Quick delivery and very good quality.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product I bought this sleeping bag based on the description, but I was still amazed how light it was and how mall the pouch was that it has fit into. It is a good size, very soft, warm and cozy and my son loves it.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Love this sleeping bag. It's super soft and comfy. It got a bit wet on my last hiking trip and it was still warm enough. I also love how light weight and compact it is.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very compact and easy to carry but not warm enough Packs up very small for convenient travel but just wasn't warm enough, even 12-14degCelcius camping in a tent I had to wear jumper & long pants to stay warm.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value and performance Used on a 6 day trip through the Canterbury High Country early March and down to -5 on one night. Beefed up with additional clothes and a liner it coped adequately with the cold. In warmer conditions it was a good performer. Light and small it was good value compared to comparable more technical options. Drawstrings on the collar and hood are nicely adjustable. Zips, closures and shell all well made and good to use.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love it! Super good n convenient! Good for camping
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So light, warm and cosy Bought it during Kathmandu Easter sale. Very surprise with product : so light, I don't feel its weight at all, but warm and cosy.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sleeping Bag! I have used this sleeping bag last weekend on Barrington Tops. Very comfortable ,warm and lite weight. I highly recommend this bag.
Date published: 2015-03-16
  • y_2019, m_10, d_12, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_30
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_51224_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT