1. Clearance
  2. Terrane Adapt 70L Pack

Terrane Adapt 70L Pack

Now $240.00
Extra 20% off Clearance Prices - Discount will be applied at checkout. Ends Fri 31 Jan.
or 4 easy payments with
Terrane Adapt 70L Pack is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 19.
  • y_2020, m_1, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_18
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_40751_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 265.83ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Game changer

The Terrane 70L Adapt Pack is a game changer – winner of the ISPO Gold Award 2017! Setting a new benchmark, the Terrane is your ultimate, versatile travel pack. Designed firstly as a backpack with the superior carrying comfort of our C3 Adapt harness, the Terrane also features an original, ingenious wheel design for transiting.

Voted Best Check-In for Carryology's Readers' Choice Awards 2016.

Winner of the Australian Business Award for New Product Innovation 2016.

Dimensions 
L 84 cm x W 40cm x D 38.5cm

Composition
Main: 840D Polyester
Lining: 200D Polyester

Weight 4.2kg

  • Adaptive wheel-set design – you can quickly change it from a trolley to a backpack
  • Adjustable, ergonomically fitted C3 ADAPT harness – the ultimate in long distance carrying comfort
  • Luggage-style opening
  • Protective, fold-away harness cover – ideal for airport check-in
  • Quick access top pocket and an inner mesh lid pocket
  • Lockable zip docking points
  • Inner and outer compression straps – plus a side carry handle
  • Water bottle or walking poles pocket
  • Compatible with our Gluon™ Beyond Daypack (sold separately)

Customer Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Backpack I've travelled with this backpack for three months around Europe and I'm really disappointed. Its unbearably uncomfortable to wear on your back due to the placement of the wheels and plastic on the bottom. And so then due to it being so uncomfortable to wear, you wheel it. However wheeling this pack is awkward as theres only one small loop to pull with. Additionally its so unstable that it tips over constantly. This hybrid is completely compromised and does neither job well. Also theres only one side strap not two. Therefore its hard to load in and out of cars and buses or for others to help you put it on your back. I normally love Katmandu packs and have had a 50L backpack for 7 years and its perfect. Very disappointing
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stick with backpack! I bourght this bag for my trip around the Middle East. I've previously used the standard back before and I wish I stayed with it. I wasted my money on this bag. The handle is poorly designed, why have it so small. It hurts your hand after a while. When the bag is empty it still weighs are 5kgs. It's not worth the money, buy a bag with wheels or just buy a backpack without wheels. I've traveled around the world, I would never take this bag again with me. I just want to warn people to weigh up the options. If you are only going from airport to hostel then this bag will do but if your just a little adventurist please don't get it the wheels become obsolete and the weight of the bag is impractical.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great HYBRID pack for travelling on the go !!! I can't believe the harsh reviews that this pack has received by other users ! It was great as a compromise between a rolling suitcase and backpack for a variety of mixed uses. Firstly, I purchased this for a recent Europe trip which was used on trains,planes,taxis,ferries and boats. If you are in a hurry, just throw it on your back and away you go. If you follow the instructions on how to set up properly as a backpack it is awesome. With around 20kgs of gear in there it was fine. If you know that you are going to use this as a wheeled trolley most of the time, then it is not the best purpose for this pack. If however, you need the ability to wheel for short distance it is fine. When in between airport terminals, train platforms, etc then you would just use it as a backpack. As far as not standing up on it's own, this was not an issue for me, as it did this for me. Please note, except when the wheels are out and then you can just step on the wheel bracket and pull up on the handle, and once the wheels are retracted, it will stand up. Handle being uncomfortable was not an issue at all. This pack surprised me as to how much I could actually fit in and how evenly the gear could be packed. At $380 on special it is a very good buy for it's intended purpose. You must be very careful on your decision when buying this pack and what you intend to use this for, which sounds like why it received such a bad wrap from other users.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate choice for backpacking I don’t know what everyone is complaining about. It’s not a $3,000 Segway scooter with two gyroscopes, algorithms and a computer in it to make it stand up right. Its called leaning it against your leg, that’s how you keep any pack up while you’re in line at the ticket counter. The wheels don’t glide like you are skating on ice, but they are robust – fine for going across a plaza or an entrance hall. If you’re in the mountains or on a third world street well that’s what the backpack straps are for – its not a hum vee. Also, it doesn’t roll around as you drag it. Its fine unless you were stressed out/late for a flight and making sudden ‘darting’ turns as you go. The main thing I like about this bag is that its got the front/ lying flat-to-open zip (instead of stuffing things down into those cylinder-shaped hiking packs which is useless for disorganised people like me). The harness/straps are ridiculously good. It does seem less than 70litres storage for some reason – it feels like 60 - but who cares? Good enough! I love this thing. I don’t see anything better either (with the zip, some decent wheels and the NASA-grade harness/comfort factor). This is what I should have had when I back-packed (twice) for 18 months. Some wheels when I was at train stations, a comfy backpack when I was on the march and the ‘full open’/ zipper at the front for when I was at the hostel - so I could see where my stuff was quickly. Sure, the wheels could feel like a top-notch skateboard, that’d be nice, but nothings perfect. As for the bag tipping over – well yeah, every bag does – except for heavy based square suitcases and laptop/file bags you'd take to meetings and travel on business with. Even some of those (if they have pouches slapped on the front that are stuffed with things can lean over - creating some uncertainty). They don’t have the backpack feature though … This bag does what it should do (in my opinion). Plus, it looks great so I’ll give it a 4.5 – they could look at skateboards and redesign the wheels (skateboard wheels NEVER feel draggy or stiff unless they go into sand, yet they are smooth as silk – they do also weigh a fair bit though…). 4.5 is fair for this bag. If you are going from airport to the beachside hotel in a taxi then just get a suitcase. If you want some flexibility, then this is a solid choice. Not perfect, but optimal for that (compared to anything else I’ve seen).
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neutral - Honest review I previously owned the "Hybrid" model which I believe was the first roller and hike pack made by Kathmandu and loved it. It had roller blade wheels and bearings and also a fairly long and sturdy pull out handle and could comfortably roll cross country while hiking with no problem at all however it got worn from so much use and also was only 40 litres. I bought this replacement pack 2 months ago and have travelled Cambodia and Vietnam with it, Both countries where you need both a roller and a hike pack. I was suprised to see this model had plastic wheels that frankly don't appear high quality and no pull out handle option. First thing you will notice about the bag is that without any contents it's got a good few kilos on its own adding to the overall weight of your airport check in. My bag totalled to 18kg after packed and at first I had problems making the bag stand upright on its own and the bag flipping over while rolling In which I later fixed by packing differently and being more strategic with weight distribution while packing and this fixed the issue for me indefinitely. The handle is just sown on to the top of the pack and is surprisingly a quality strong handle however it puts the entire weight of the bag on your wrist and quickly becomes an impractical option to roll anything longer than a short distance as you cannot take the tension any longer. There is also another quality handle sown onto the side of the bag much like a sports bag which was very handy for when your in a hurry however straight lifting a large 18 kg in a hurry while easy enough short distance also put strain on the wrist. The hiking element to the pack was surprisingly comfortable and even with all that weight in such a big bag still remained very comfortable and manuverable. It has a pocket in the back to be able to tuck the shoulder straps into which for the most part work well enough. The back of the pack has an adjustment height cushion which I feel is the main success to the bags comfort however adjusting it is tiring and frustrating to say the least. It is poorly thought out. The bag has more than enough space for all of your belongings and zipping the bag up once full for me was rather easy. The zipper has a security lock mould on both zippers and on the main zipper has a hard plastic loop to also feed your lock through ensuring that you also cannot break the zip seam and reseal ( A common unnoticable security breach ). Overall I was very grateful and confident with the quality and security this bag offers. The bag offers a quick access roof facing pocket that was quite roomy and easy to access depending on how jam packed your main storage was and was great for keeping your passport and paperwork inside. I did get caught in tropical storms with tropical rain on a couple of occasions with my bag and am thankful to say that the bag was highly water resistant. Not a drop inside. I was however worried that what I can only assume is a water protector for the zip seam on the upper main part of the bag is sowed from below the zip seam facing up when I assume it should be sowed above the zip seam facing down if its purpose is truly to protect the zip seam from water. It has a large pocket on the side of the bag that they say is for a drink bottle or hiking poles. I can imagine hiking poles may be simple for it using external straps to lock it down however as the pocket was so large and loose I was never confident enough to put anything in their at all from fear of losing it on the way. Overall I think I made peace with this bag and it has served me well and will continue to serve me. I no longer ever use the wheels on the bag at all however if I did not have so much weight in the bag I am confident that the wheel component would work flawlessly without wrist strain. And again packing your bag with intelligence will fix any rolling or upright issues you may have. Overall I think I would recommend this product over other options available on market, However this product again is large and heavy so may not be suitable for a novice hiker and you also like me may not use or need all of the features of this bag. It's not perfect but it's definitely not bad.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks good however mixed performance! I bought this bag about 5 months ago for a trip to Asia and I've been tossing up about writing a review. Pros: -This bag looks great and sounds great in description. - It was easy to pack and was certainly large enough. Cons: -The harness cover is often hard to do up and the zip seems cheap and is unreliable. - The pack doesn't stand up by itself and it doesn't roll overly well when using the wheels. I found that carrying it was the best option. When at the airport I had to constantly lie the bag down so it didn't fall over while I was checking in etc. It was really inconvenient and tiresome. You had to constantly hold he bag up where ever you went. I am doing further travel this year for a longer period of time 12months min and I'm seriously considering buying another pack that will hopefully be easier to deal with.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Pack with Wheels I bought this several months ago for a trip to Europe. Initially I wanted a classic pack but then was sold on the idea of a pack with wheels. The harness is very comfortable and fits well. I also love the big opening and for packing and top pocket is great for passport wallet at airport. The main reason for buying this was as a pack but to wheel occasionally at the airport or into accommodation and it does this very well. The one compromise is a higher weight but it seems like a good compromise for the ease of use when I can't be bothered carrying it on my back.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please don't waste your money This is the first time I have ever reviewed a product and am doing so because I don't want others to waste their money on this bag as I did. Travelling with this bag was such a nuisance. When wheeling it (even with the straps tucked under the cover the bag twists and flips over on its side. The wheels don't tuck up under the bag enough so even when you're not using the wheels you have to constantly hold on to the bag if it's sitting on the ground. The bag can't be propped up against anything, it will just fall over. You will regret buying this bag. I am planning on travelling again this year and will be purchasing another bag.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A mixed bag! I bought this bag to replace a previous Kathmandu product which I had found easy to pack, comfortable and excellent to travel with. A mistake! Yes, this bag has rugged wheels, but the wheel base is narrow and the bag is long, which means it tips very easily from side to side when pulled along on anything other than smooth flooring, then falls over. The wheels are retractable when not required, which makes them less likely to be wrecked while being handled by baggage handlers or on luggage conveyor belts, but do not try to stand the bag up when the wheels are out as the bag has no flat base and falls over. (A real nuisance when you are trying to transit through passport control /customs, wheeling your bag, then having to lie it down so it doesn't fall over and break something inside or your neighbour's ankles!) As a back pack, the harness is easy to access and is comfortable, though a little harder to get it to fold away completely and to stay tucked away after it has been used regularly. Access to the inside is easy with a good rugged zip, but once inside the space close to the bottom where I prefer to stow my heavy stuff is unevenly taken up by the plastic casing for the stow away wheels. The internal space seems smaller than its advertised volume. In summary: For: sturdy wheels. long bag which suited a taller person. comfortable harness. Against: uncomfortable to pull. unstable. lumpy internal space.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst. I don't usually write reviews about products but I had the worst time travelling with this bag. I bought the Terrane Adapt Pack about two months ago for my trip around Asia. I thought all the hype about the new roller would be great (but its just as bad as the last bag they had with the roller). Worst decision. When you're backpacking you're usually in a rush from place to place, which means you don't always have time to pack the harness into its pocket. There should be a quick fix for this on the bag but unfortunately not. I did not think of this at the time of purchase. However, I always wrapped it so that the straps don't get lodge into the wheels but once in a while you'll get a strap getting stuck. Dragging this bag is a nightmare too. It can't be rolled for long without cramping up your hand. I had about 15kg packed in evenly and was rolling the bag for a few 100m and had to keep switching hands. After that experience I just carried it everywhere. Overall, it is an improvement to their last model but it still needs work. I definitely would not recommend this bag. Stick to the traditional backpacks they offer.
Date published: 2016-07-31
  • y_2020, m_1, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_18
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_40751_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT