1. XT Pinnacle Men’s Down Jacket

XT Pinnacle Men’s Down Jacket

Please note

All measurements listed below are in centimetres and based on actual body measurements, not garment measurements.
  Chest (cm) Waist (cm) Hips (cm) Inside Leg (cm)
XS 91 76 91 80
S 96 81 96 81
M 101 87 102 83
L 106 91 106 83
XL 111 96 111 84
2XL 116 101 116 85
mens size chart

How to measure

Chest: Measure around the fullest part of your chest, making sure to keep the tape under your arms and around your shoulder blades.

Waist: Measure around the smallest part of your waist (natural waistline).

Hips: Stand with your heels together and measure around the fullest part.

Inside Leg: Measure from the top of your inner leg along the inside seam to the bottom of your leg.

View sizing guide
$699.98
Members Price $489.99
or 4 easy payments with

XT Pinnacle Men’s Down Jacket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 35.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_33
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_A0161_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 278.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

The pinnacle

Designed for alpine conditions and tested by our expert ambassadors, the XT Pinnacle Men’s Down Jacket is your ultimate protection – warm, breathable and weatherproof. The Pinnacle is fully seam-sealed and constructed with box baffles that eliminate cold areas so you’ll stay dry and insulated.

Part of our XT Series – engineered to endure.

Outer Fabric
Pertex™ Shield, 100% Ripstop Nylon with waterproof PU coating (10,000 mm) and DWR treatment

Inner Fabric
100% Nylon Taffeta

Fill
RDS certified, water repellent DownTek™ goose down and feather, minimum 90% goose down (class 1)

Fill Power
750

Fill Weight
200 g (size M)

Weight
912 g (size M)

  • Responsible Down Standard (RDS) certified – ensuring it’s traceable and ethical
  • Water repellent DownTek™ – 750 fill power goose down
  • Waterproof, windproof and breathable Pertex™ Shield 2 layer fabric - to keep you comfy and dry
  • Seam taped box baffles – to minimise cold areas and maximise down loft while staying waterproof
  • Three way adjustable hood to fit your helmet and keep the elements out
  • Water repellent YKK™ VISLON™ AquaGuard™ two way front zip with an internal storm guard – open your jacket bottom-up to access your harness
  • Adjustable hem and cuffs to help protect you from the weather
  • Two zip waist pockets with soft, brushed lining and two water repellent zip chest pockets to easily access your food and gels
  • Internal mesh pocket – for your water bottle so it doesn’t freeze
  • Includes a separate stuff sack
  • The iconic front and back ‘Peak’ design is a trade mark of Kathmandu

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 243.14ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm I bought this for use in Holland while there for business in December. It’s used on the heli deck of a Super Yacht to keep the cold and rain off.
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm, but could be better. Wore this in a snowstorm in Tassie and was toasty even with just a t-shirt on underneath. The zip is a problem, catching on the lining every time. With gloves on it's near impossible to do up. It's also quite heavy and doesn't pack down very small. Haven't tried it in wet conditions so hopefully it lives up to its hype.
Date published: 2019-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Toasty in the arctic Bought this jacket for a November visit above the arctic circle in Russia. Kept me warm in -25degC with a strong wind. Was pretty glad I had it. Packs down very small. Hood seems to be made to accommodate a helmet, so a bit high up on the head, otherwise a great jacket. I went up a size after trying in on in store.
Date published: 2019-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Jacket I needed a jacket that would keep me warm when the temperature sat around zero, but would be waterproof also the colour provided made it ideal for social use.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful jacket I bought this a month ago. Been wearing it since. Alway warm and snug. Plenty of movement range and stops dead the winter cold wind.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kathmandu big fail. Jacket was a massive disappointment. Jacket was not warm to wear and had many cold spots within the structure. I own a few Kathmandu jackets which have been excellent but this XT Pinnacle Down Jacket is very ineffective when wearing in cold weather. Tested it at home and it still did not keep me warm. It seems that it lacks a proper amount of down within the structure.
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We bought the men’s and ladies Pinnacle down jackets to go to Iceland , they were fantastic , so warm , wind proof and moderately rainproof . We were never cold in these jackets even viewing the Northern Lights in Iceland . We also wore them in Ireland , Faroe Islands , Shetland Islands Orkney Islands and other parts of the Uk . Temperatures between 0 and 8 degrees mostly . They pack up into the hood also for easy packing. We would thoroughly recommend these jackets .
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Out The Cold and the Water Have had this a week now, its a great jacket for all conditions. I plan on going to Iceland for a trip, i wont be leaving without this jacket
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely GLORIOUS! I was on the hunt for a jacket that offered everything in one, wind proof, water proof and most importantly warmth. I had read how great these jackets are and it hasn't disappointed! At first I was scared to get it wet (thinking a down jacket can't be THAT waterproof) but this jacket is just that! I have never been cold or wet while wearing it, and it has seen some heavy rain and snow fall. I now own two of these jackets and I would never own a different down jacket again! Well worth every penny.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weather proof and warm in the coldest conditions Awesome jacket. Super warm thick down, water proof and comfortable. I got this jacket for a recent trip to Iceland over the winter months and it was great. Some nights I would stay out all night watching the Northern Lights and it always kept me super warm, with the temperature getting down to -20C on some occasions. Would definitely recommend even if the extremist conditions.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Average jacket Bought XT Pinnacle jacket in December 2018 for trip to Finland Artic Circle and Japan snow fields. Nice looking jacket. Warmth is ok to about -15 degrees C with thermals. At -20 cold breaks through and additional layering is required beyond thermals, shirt and inner jumper. Two way zipper is unnecessary and makes it super annoyingly difficult to do up. Zipper needs to be one way and much bigger to make it easier to latch by hand feel while wearing gloves. Internal lining constantly gets caught when zipping up the jacket. Big issue when I needed to zip up quickly. Constantly worried it would rip the lining and damage the zipper. External pockets way too small to fit my hands with thick arctic gloves. Neck line has internal cords to tighten the hood. It it gets abrasive against my chin and irritates my skin badly. Needed to wear a snood to stop the chaffing. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone planning to buy it for use in arctic conditions. Or regular wear either. Too many little design issues and annoying functional issues that add up to an impractical jacket. Shame. Was really excited to try it out when I arrived in Japan and Scandinavia.
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A jacket that does the job Bought this 2 months ago for Mongolia's Gobi Desert assignment. So far so good to keep warm at -28 in Gobi Desert and Ulan Bator. Easy pack away. Only disappointment is the waterproofing feature. Currently hiking in Lake Matheson in NZ with mild to heavy rain and the waterproofing last only about 40mins(most hiking track is between 2-3 hours), after that, the jacket will be soaked and damp.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic to be waterproof and windoroof Havnt used it yet as it’s summer but can’t wait to wear it when the cold wet weather arrives. Bring on the big trout and salmon In Twizel
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing, but flawed fit and range of movement Having had this jacket for over 6 months now, I can definitely say it’s amazing. The only flaw is the range of movement. Had to remove a star because of this, as over time it has become super annoying. The back on these isn’t very wide, and I suspect that this is where the issue is. If you aren’t a wide guy/girl than the jacket would be perfect. For me, the jacket is so good that I can put up with the limited range of movement. I would definitely suggest going up a size, but be careful, as going up a size doesn’t always give you space where you need it.. so try it on.
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Jackets! My new jacket was specifically purchased for a proposed trip to New Zealand on the recommendation of my wife, who has one, thankfully it arrived the day before we left. It kept me warm and dry during all sorts of conditions, though I must be honest and state we didn't experience extreme conditions, nevertheless I am, as is my wife, really pleased with my purchase. We live in Tasmania and looking forward to it also keeping me warm and dry during our Tasmanian winters!
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT AS WARM AS IT CLAIMS TO BE - V. DISAPPOINTED I bought the Pinnacle jacket several months ago and am extremely disappointed to find that it is nowhere near as warm as the blurb claims it to be. Have been using the jacket through this winter in Canberra (which wasn't THAT cold) and for the most part I felt chilly overall and really cold in particular areas. The worst areas for cold and/or wind penetration are across the top of shoulders, the upper back and around the upper chest. There is hardly any down filling in those areas, particularly over the shoulders, and no matter how much you turn the jacket upside down and shake it to try to redistribute the filling it makes no difference as you can't redistribute what is not there. Sorely disappointed as I had high hopes (but no higher than the Kathmandu blurb for this Pinnacle jacket led me to believe) for this very expensive jacket. Greatly regret purchasing it.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Very happy with the purchase. Great jacket, light and warm. Does the job
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True Size !?! Been looking for something that's like this for a wile to fit my 3XL size, but everywhere I look I happen to find 2XL's, but I happened to see these products on larger people so I decided to give it a try and happened to be pleasantly surprised to find it is truly like an 3XL, So I can highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and comfortable Love this jacket it has heaps of pockets and has held up really well in the snow and keeping me warm and dry
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Jacket Ever It’s light, packs down to almost nothing, looks good, but above all is warm and waterproof. Doesn’t get any better!
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm even in -40 Kathmandu gave me this jacket to use during a recent crossing of Greenland. It performed exceptionally well in even the most extreme situations. the hood cups around the head very nicely providing an almost air tight fit it stayed on even in really windy conditions. this jacket would perfect for your wintery trips or even long multi-day expeditions. ✓
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a thick warm jacket! Excellent for the cold! I bought this for my trip to the South Island of New Zealand and wow it certainly kept me warm! Its super thick and the lining makes it feel like youre in a sleeping bag. The best thing is that it also rolls up into its pocket for easy storage in your bag. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome jacket!! So warm and cosy, good sleeve length and body length. Love it!!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely and warm. Brought this jacket for my sons 30th. Lives on the farm which gets really cold. Loves it as it doesn’t rip when caught in fences. So the feathers stay inside jacket.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! Bulky, but that just makes it an extremely warm jacket, exactly what I was looking for. Plus in the unlikely event that it gets soaked and the Goose down gets wet, the technology allows for you to stay warm.
Date published: 2018-06-06
  • y_2020, m_10, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_33
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_A0161_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT