1. Men's
  2. Footwear
  3. Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoes

Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoes

Please note

These sizes and measurements are a guide only. 

Kathmandu Men's Footwear

Euro 40 41 42 43 43.5 44 45 46.5 48.5
UK Men's 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 10 11 12 13.5
US Men's 7.5 8 8.5 9 10 10.5 11.5 12.5 14
Mondopoint 254 257 260 267 270 273 279 286 292
* The Mondopoint System: This is the same as measuring the foot (not the shoe) in millimetres (mm). To measure your foot using this system: Place your heel against a wall and measure from the back of the heel to the end of the longest toe.

Unisex Sock Size Chart

Unisex Sizes S M L XL
NZ/AU/UK 2-5 6-8 9-10 11-13
EU 35-38 39-41 42-44 45+
USA (M) 3-6 7-8 9-10 11+
USA (W) 4-7 8-9 10-11 12+
View sizing guide
Now $169.98
or 4 easy payments with

or 4 easy payments with
Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoes is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_90
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_33048_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 247.99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Great for long walks

When you need one shoe to hike the castles and alpine trails of Europe, yet still look good on the streets of Geneva, pack the Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoe. This classic leather walking shoe features a Vibram® sole for durable comfort, and the waterproof, breathable ngx® liner helps keep your feet a little more dry when the going gets wet.

Composition
Upper: Hard-wearing Nubuck leather fabric upper
Outsole: Vibram™ featherlite sole
Liner: ngx™ waterproof/breathable liner

Weight
UK8 (single) 400g 

  • Rubber toe cap adds durability
  • Cordura™ fabric adds flexibility
  • Waterproof, windproof and breathable liner (ngx™) to keep you dry
  • Vibram™ featherlite sole for comfort and durable grip
  • Pair them up with Kathmandu socks for the ultimate level of comfort
  • Keep your footwear in peak condition with Granger’s care products
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Good comfortable shoes with very durable soles. I can tell these will be long lasting.
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile This is the 3rd time I have purchased these shoes. Good shoe.
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable! I have trouble finding shoes that don't hurt my feet. These are great, sturdy and supportive, and the insole can be removed to fit an orthotic. I bought them before a trip where I was doing a lot of hiking, and they saved me! Good for hiking or day-to-day wear. I've started wearing them to work in my office because my other shoes hurt my feet. I picked them up on sale, Kathmandu gear is pricey, but I guess you get the quality.
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable I purchase these a month ago and have worn them on walks and also in general use round town. Very comfortable and practicable shoes with well designed lace up system.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings Comfortable and supportive but since about day 3 the heel of the right shoe emits a loud squeak when walking. Very annoying.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I'm wearing these to work for 12 hours a day, without losing comfort.
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great and functional Happy with this ,it is snug and does require appropiate socks to prevent friction.Vibram grip is great.
Date published: 2020-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I requested. Right size, right style. Helpful store consultant to boot. (Pun intended).
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I had a pair of these shoes previously and they cop a hard time with my work. Great shoes
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I was looking for a new pair of walking shoes and these ticked all the boxes re comfort, protection and potential durability. So far they have met all these requirements.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Past their Prime? The first pair of Strowans I bought maybe 7, 8 years ago. They were great. 2nd pair not so good. Stitching broke down quickly and insoles slip around a lot. Seems I’m not the only one to have these problems.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediately a great fit Best pair of outdoor shoes I've had, immediately very comfortable.
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good shoes, great value Bought this shoe about a month ago and took it one trip around the South Island in winter. Proved to be worm strong and comfortable. Tread is not too detailed so that getting the mud out is not a mission. At $120NZ its a great value shoe that looks like it will last for years.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value for Money I purchased these about a month ago, I have worn them to work a bit and used them for a good long day walk from Waihi Beach, over to Orokawa Bay and up to the William Wright Falls. This track basically follows a stream/river which you essentially walk up (rock hopping to keep your shoes dry). For a shoe they provided good support, the sole is Vibram and provides a lot of grip. The insole is not the most comfortable for all day use...but at half the price of some big brand shoes, this shoe represents EXCELLENT value for money. So I'm very happy with these shoes.
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly comfortable I don't usually buy footwear online. I have a wide foot and high arch, and wear orthotics, so like to try before I buy. So was very pleasantly surprised at how well these hiking shoes fitted, and are super comfortable. They have a sturdy sole which is good for strolling along the beach front or day walking along bush trails. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hiking Shoe New shoe is so good. Feels like I’m walking on air. Round trips of 10km easy.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable , would definitely get them Would definitely buy them again . The comfiest shoes I've had .
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best shoes ever I have bought these shoes before and had to have another pair
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday wear I basically live in these. I wear them everyday and they are comfortable and very supportive.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from strong robust comfortable walking/work shoe this is the second pair of these i have purchased i work in the towing industry i'm on call 24/7 and required a strong capable work shoe the could be worn casually. These shoes have performed above expectations. Going out in the middle of the night to retrieve accident damaged vehicles in paddocks, on the side of the road or from the middle of the road in wild weather i knew i could walk with confidence and not come home with wet feet. purchase these with confidence knowing they can handle what ever you dish out i wore my first pair most days for 18 months. now the second pair should do the same.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing changed I bought a pair of these a some time ago. They've been OK, although not brilliant. The seams near the toes have come apart and the soles have worn quickly. Nevertheless, when I saw them on sale I decided to buy another pair. However, I found that the sizing had been changed from Continental to UK, and that fit was different. I wore my old pair to the shop so that I could make a direct comparison, and as noted by another reviewer, the shoes are much narrower. I came away empty-handed.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awesome shoe lacers, that's the Best feature. Brought a couple of months ago, I only wear them for 2 hours every couple of mornings and I rotate them with another brand of shoes. So you could say roughly 4 hours a week, not even. I use them for walking on road, footpaths and have used for extremely Lite! hiking, twice. But even the hiking was no more than 2 hours. Have also taken to beach and walked on sand. I've washed them with tap water, but they've never touched saltwater. I love them to bits, but they're falling apart, coming apart at the stitching and the wear on soles is ridiculous for how many hours they've put in. As much as I love them, I don't think I'll buy another pair, maybe a cheaper pair is a more viable option atleast for me. Cause I can't warrant spending how much these cost, even when on special, every couple of months for a product that should last atleast triple the time they've put in. As for the pictures. Both shoes have same problems in same spots. You can also see the date I purchased.
Date published: 2019-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from average I've bought 2 pairs when on special and both lasted less than 5 months each. The seam near the rubber front split on both and the rubber front peeled back a bit the first time they got wet. Expected better quality.
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all round shoe rugged and smart looking Bought these 2months ago very comfortable great shoe hoping to wear them to Antartica.
Date published: 2019-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2019 season's Strowan shrunk in width by a cm! Last year I bought Strowan shoes for my husband and just now bought a new pair for my son. He was surprised that they felt too narrow for his usual size 10UK. My husband, the same size, agreed. Size 11UK also felt too narrow. It was also too long, so we tried another pair of size 10UK hoping that it would stretch after use. However when, at home, I compared the new Strowan to the previous year's there was a visible difference in width which was quite shocking. It measured about 1cm narrower. My husband has narrow feet, my son has average feet, but definitely not wide. It's the same product number 33048, same size. Now we have to return the product which is very disappointing. I also read another survey here with the same experience. Is this just negligance on the part of quality control or a case of manufacturers trying to economize on materials or the result of a survey that Kiwi men's feet have shrunk in width?
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best fit and comfort! I have been wearing traveling/hiking shoes from another well-known brand for many years, and now I'm very happy to have bought Strowan Men's ngx at Kathmandu. It fits much better than any Columbia shoes I bought and has excellent quality.
Date published: 2019-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from strowan Men’s ng. hiking shoes They were too narrow so had to return them. No good if you don’t have a narrow foot.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality issues? They are really comfortable and I wear them most days to work, even though I work mostly in an office! But I do question the quality, didn't take long for the laces to break, (easy enough to replace) but now the stitching up the sides of the shoes has split open. if there was a warranty i would be looking for a replacement...
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from slippery shoes They look great but have a very slippery sole. I have slipped over twice wearing these and have torn a calf mussle
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boots I suffer from plantar fasciitis and was after some solid, comfortable outdoor shoes, and these have been great. Very supportive and weatherproof, they do exactly as they should.
Date published: 2019-06-15
  • y_2021, m_6, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_90
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_33048_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 235.68ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;