1. Men's
  2. Clothing
  3. Pants & Shorts
  4. Trailhead Men's Hiking Shorts

Trailhead Men's Hiking Shorts

Please note

All measurements listed below are in centimetres and based on actual body measurements, not garment measurements.
 Chest (cm)Waist (cm)Hips (cm)Inside Leg (cm)
XS 36" 91 76 91 80
S 38" 96 81 96 81
M 40" 101 86 101 82
L 42" 106 91 106 83
XL 44" 111 96 111 84
2XL 46" 116 101 116 85
3XL 48" 121 106 121 86
mens size chart

How to measure

Chest: Measure around the fullest part of your chest, making sure to keep the tape under your arms and around your shoulder blades.

Waist: Measure around the smallest part of your waist (natural waistline).

Hips: Stand with your heels together and measure around the fullest part.

Inside Leg: Measure from the top of your inner leg along the inside seam to the bottom of your leg.

View sizing guide
Now $59.99
or 4 easy payments with
Trailhead Men's Hiking Shorts is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 58.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_51
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_15058_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 311.43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Built for the trail. Styled for the city.

The latest Trailhead Men’s Shorts are designed for the trail, but won’t look out of place in the city. Our trailTOUGH fabric is abrasion resistant and moisture wicking. When you jump underneath a waterfall, the Trailhead fabric will be quick to dry. The four-way stretch won’t hold you back. These tough and versatile shorts are easy to care for – they’ll come out of your pack or bag ready for the next adventure.

Fabric
90% Polyester 10% Elastane

Weight
Size M = 230g 

  • trailTOUGH: Durable and built to perform, with moisture management and abrasion-resistant properties
  • Four-way stretch fabric moves with you
  • Brush-lined inner waist band for added comfort
  • Back pockets
  • Side hand pockets
  • Mesh pocket lining helps with quick drying
  • Protects from the sun with a UPF rating of 50+
  • Internal drawstring

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great comfortable style and fabric for packing and travelling
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small Pockets again Had to return as hubby could not get his hands in pockets. What is going on with sizes this year?
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and tough. Looked for a quality pair of shorts and finally found them!
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pants for bush walks Purchased the pants a couple of weeks ago. They are very comfortable and the deep pockets are great. They stretch really well when climbing stairs or going on steep slopes etc. I’m am very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect combination of looks and practicality Comfortable fit, practical material and looks great
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pockets These are my new best friends so comfortable. pocket placement is amazing and the material is nice a.d stretchy
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent shorts Bought these shorts a few weeks ago & they are really comfortable, got them for an overseas trip so will see how they go.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable I have these shorts in black and couldn’t resist grabbing a second pair. They are extremely comfortable to wear, light and flexible and move with you.
Date published: 2019-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and practical. These are great shorts! Stylish design resting just above the knee, stretchy Elastane embedded fabric, allows for breathable comfort at any angle. Simple features of re-enforced drawstring waistband, traditional chunky button closure and zipper makes these shorts perfect for the trail run, gym or going to the cinema. The shorts pack away nicely, wrinkle free and are perfect to stash away in a weekender bag as a backup go anywhere short. I wear them all the time.
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had extremely helpful service at your Bayfair branch, very happy with the quality of the Trail Shorts and delighted with the speedy delivery of the goods. Full marks! Regards Jean Warder
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Very versatile garment when travelling. Worn for sightseeing, eating out & golf.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit great! I bought these a few weeks back and they are great, cool, look good and are comfortable.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and moves with your body It is difficult to find shorts that actually allow you to move freely. These shorts give you the freedom to move without suddenly gripping your skin and preventing you from moving. I use these for both exercise and everyday walking. Great buy.
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic shorts Very comfy. Suitable for the trail or at home, stylish enough for casual Friday at work.
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra comfortable I have purchased these before an they are excellent for everyday use, travel etc. Very comfortable, easy to care for, light and dries quickly.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit You can feel the quality. Its a very confortable material.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable, Second pair, love them. Great for everyday wear. Daily activities.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy These are so comfy yet stylish at the same time. Great color as well
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shorts! I purchased a pair of these a couple of months ago, and decided they were the most comfortable and practical short I own, while also looking great. So I bought 3 more...
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shorts! Bought X2 pairs for my recent trip to Thailand,wore them on the flight very comfortable and did not disappoint during the rest of the trip, easy to wash and super quick to dry would certainly recommend!
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trailhead plus Bought the Trailhead shorts for a bit of variety and easy maintenance when bikepacking. Perfect! don't know about the longevity of the fabric, but well serves the purpose, for now.
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent travel shorts Was looking for some shorts for minimalist travel. Got these because of the comfortable fit. Good colour, slight give in the fabric, versatile & fast drying. Look good for a day out exploring or dinner.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shorts I have ever owned I own many Kathmandu products and generally quite happy with them, but this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review as these shorts really are brilliant. I originally purchased them to walk in as I was training for the Oxfam 100km walk and wanted something durable, yet light and comfortable, with reasonable pockets. And these ticked all those boxes. I found them that comfortable that I was wearing them constantly and purchased another pair as they are not only great for activities but also wearing casually. They pack light and now they are the only shorts I'll wear. Life is too short not to be comfortable! A couple more colour options would be great so I could add to my collection!
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought these shorts just before Xmas and am very happy with purchase and orice
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile shorts Comfy, versatile shorts. Have been great for hiking, swimming and travelling
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good material The stretch material gives a good comfortable feeling.
Date published: 2018-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable fit Bought these for recent holiday. They were excellent for hiking and just kicking around the beach. Very pleased with them.
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Light, good fit and great features, will be excellent for my travels and doesn’t take much space
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best climbing/hiking shorts I have! Wore these on a climbing trip to red Rock canyon, and they are amazing. Super comfortable and flexible. Held up to miles of hiking through cactus and scraping against abrasive sandstone. The shorts don't have a scratch or tear on them. These will replace all my prana climbing shorts.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worthwhile purchase I bought these about a month ago. They’ve done the job I intended them for well (odd bush walk etc)
Date published: 2018-11-01
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_51
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_15058_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT