1. Gear
  2. Tents
  3. Retreat 40 2 Person Tent

Retreat 40 2 Person Tent

Regular $139.98
or 4 easy payments with

or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 40 2 Person Tent is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 68.
  • y_2021, m_7, d_28, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_61
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87151_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 267.56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Get out of the city

The Retreat 40 is the ideal compact, two-person tent in which to rest after your daily adventures. It’s waterproof, durable and easy to pitch, with ventilation and insect-proof mesh screens, and a unique top-arching pole that will maximise your headroom and living space. Part of our Retreat Range – camping in comfort.

Measurements
Sleeps 2
Doors 1
Overall Dimensions L325cm x W 155cm x H 165cm
Internal Height 116cm

Composition
Fly Fabric: 75D/185T Polyester Taffeta, Flame Retardant, UPF 50+ Water Repellent Treatment , PU coated
Fly Rating 3000mm

Inner Fabric: 68D 185T Polyester with Water Repellent Finish

Groundsheet: 120gsm PE Tarpaulin, 100% Polyethylene
Groundsheet Rating 2000mm

Poles 8.5mm-9.5mm Fibreglass

Weight 4.7kg

Tent Pitching Instructions
Watch Video
Download PDF – Includes Tent contents.

  • Waterproof seam-sealed flysheet
  • Durable fibreglass poles
  • Breathable inner with water-repellent treatment
  • Insect proof mesh doors and vents
  • Internal storage pockets
  • Lantern hook
  • Reflective detail and guy ropes help guide you home at night
  • Configure Wing shelter compatible (sold separately)
  • Includes repair kit
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best 2 person tent It was easy to set up and easy to pack up and best looking tent i ever had
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tent I bought this tent the other week just for myself. Went camping and on the first night it poured rain and was quite windy as well. It held up pretty strong with no leaks and stayed put. Easy enough to assemble with 1 person and personally there was enough room for me and my gear. Not sure how two people with bags would go though. Little hook at the top for a light which was perfect but I feel like there could be some more ventilation. It was good as I had cool temps but in summer I can see this tent getting a bit hot. Overall for the price (I bought at a discount) I think it's great.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best affordable tent ! I bought this tent for my first camping ever. This tent was so easy to erect that it took us 20 mins and everything was set. Its in the middle of winters and this tent did more than or expectations against high wind and a lot of rain. Good head room and doesn't feel small at all. Pockets inside the tent are very helpful. Really happy with the product. Must buy for 2 people.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent, so beast to set up and real quality Love the colour coordinated poles as it made getting it up so easy! Brilliant tent. Lived it :-)
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The poles broke It's an ok tent but two poles broke within 6 months with only normal use
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent tiny tent Tent is everything you could ask for with the comparatively low price. Easy to set up, and durable. We pitched ours, and experienced heavy wind and rain that night. No leaks and the tiny front vestibule kept things dry enough (though I wouldn't rely on it). Fits a double bed, but not a queen so don't expect it to be too large. If you have two people, you will need somewhere else to store things as there was only 20cm gap between the foot of the double bed and the door. Nice hook at the top of the tent to hang a light which was useful. Not much in the way of ventilation. The back vent is tiny, but large enough to let rain in if you don't pop it down properly. TL;DR The tent is good, especially for the price. Would buy again.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wet weekend! We just spent a very wet weekend away in this tent. It rained heavily all night but we stayed perfectly dry. Quick to assemble this is a great tent.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for money I've been camping twice with this. Perfect weather every time so can't comment on how it holds up in wind and rain yet. But the airflow is surprisingly good, zero condensation so far (I sleep in it alone though, might be different with two people). Easy enough to put up alone and packs up nice and small, fits in my suitcase easily. Those were the two most important things for me.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent Great tent. Great for weekend getaways with the family.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Tent I purchased this tent in early Feb for Waitangi Weekend in the Abel Tasman. It worked an absolute treat, was a bit cosy but was perfect for what we needed it for. Super easy to put up as well! Will be using it again in Easter :D
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little tent I bought this tent recently and it's had one outing so far, it didn't have to stand up to any weather, but was easy to assemble and pack away. For the price, I think it's a great little tent
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Travel Tent! Super EPIC travel tent, so easy to erect and disassemble very fast and smooth. Very affordable amazing value for money!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great the strings are easy to use large enough for 2 peoples with extra space between
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical, efficient and comfortable I bought this tent for a lightweight, convenient piece for hiking. Its easy to pack into a car or backpack, was extremely easy to set up and has enough room for 2 to sleep comfortably and a little annex at the front to keep your shoes dry and protected at night
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better in the flesh! Was advertised perfectly and when it arrived it was exactly as i thought it would be and the quality exceeded my expectations. I have so much faith in kathmandu products and look forward to buying more gear made by kathmandu
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 person tent I have purchased this as a christmas present. It's exactly what I wanted, packs away nicely, good and compact. Great quality
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good tent. This tent was really easy and fast to set up, took us about 20 mins the very first time doing it. It is the perfect size for 2 people and had a decent height inside as well for some head space. Got this at 50% off so highly recommended if you can grab it for that price.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tent - just the ticket! Purchased tent for family weekend away. Tent was easy to set up and we were camping in no time. We have a Retreat 40 and Retreat 60. Love Kathmandu products. We also bought online in Sunday and had tent delivered by Tuesday. Exceptional customer service.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy This tent was easy to put up and take down and seemed to be of great quality. Would definitely recommend to someone who is wanting to get into camping. Wish there had been a bit more airflow due to summer heat but otherwise was perfect.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent for a great price This is a good simple tent, great for the price. It has the high quality standard that I expect in a Kathmandu tent, but without the bells and whistles to keep the price low.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brilliant test So easy to erect and take down. Bought for my 12 year old to take on school camp. Him and his friend managed to put it up and take it down all by themselves. He's looking forward to when he can use it again.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent. Easy for the kids to put together. Perfect first tent. Our 11yr old loves it!
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to My Current Tent Collect! I have recently purchased this tent and have found it to be Excellent for what itis designed for and to do.The Instruction Video was Great *Do Watch*To Pitch this Tent Do so with Respect .Easy to Make Up and Fold Away.
Date published: 2015-12-17
  • y_2021, m_7, d_28, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_61
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87151_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.91ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 218.4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;