1. Gear
  2. Tents
  3. Retreat 40 2 Person Tent

Retreat 40 2 Person Tent

Regular $139.98
or 4 easy payments with

or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 40 2 Person Tent is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 68.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_13, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_61
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87151_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 251.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Get out of the city

The Retreat 40 is the ideal compact, two-person tent in which to rest after your daily adventures. It’s waterproof, durable and easy to pitch, with ventilation and insect-proof mesh screens, and a unique top-arching pole that will maximise your headroom and living space. Part of our Retreat Range – camping in comfort.

Measurements
Sleeps 2
Doors 1
Overall Dimensions L325cm x W 155cm x H 165cm
Internal Height 116cm

Composition
Fly Fabric: 75D/185T Polyester Taffeta, Flame Retardant, UPF 50+ Water Repellent Treatment , PU coated
Fly Rating 3000mm

Inner Fabric: 68D 185T Polyester with Water Repellent Finish

Groundsheet: 120gsm PE Tarpaulin, 100% Polyethylene
Groundsheet Rating 2000mm

Poles 8.5mm-9.5mm Fibreglass

Weight 4.7kg

Tent Pitching Instructions
Watch Video
Download PDF – Includes Tent contents.

  • Waterproof seam-sealed flysheet
  • Durable fibreglass poles
  • Breathable inner with water-repellent treatment
  • Insect proof mesh doors and vents
  • Internal storage pockets
  • Lantern hook
  • Reflective detail and guy ropes help guide you home at night
  • Configure Wing shelter compatible (sold separately)
  • Includes repair kit
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tent this month I bought a tent and it was excellent, in turn I am in a place where there is wind and it has remained firm. On the other hand it has also rained and the tent inside has no problems. I am very happy with the price and quality ratio.
Date published: 2020-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tenting made easy! I brought this tent before I left for Cherry Picking in Cromwell for the summer. It was easy to pitch for one person, but the weather conditions need to be good to make it easier. Since pitching it, this tent has been submitted to some extreme wind gusts and she's held up really well. The build quality of the tent is good for a rookie camper. It can accommodate a double air mattress but there is no storage once it's in. It is more suited for 1 person on a signal mattress. Makes moving around much easier. The only thing I can fault with is tent is lack of air circulation and that would be about it. Over the last couple of days we have been experiencing 30 degree low wind days, and being in the tent isn't ideal unless you have the door fully open. Thanks for reading my review ;) cheers
Date published: 2020-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent tent with durability issues Owned this just over a year and the main functionality of the tent is working well, but the fibreglass poles have worn out at a much quicker rate than other parts, and have started to bent, snap and will generally render it useless pretty soon.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I bought the Retreat 40 for my son 2x weeks ago and used it for camping. Easy to setup, protected us from rain and warm for the cold nights.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to assemble Alone and lacks ventilatIon I bought this tent 18 months ago and am just about to use it. The instructions aren’t simple so I watched the video which shows 2 people Assembling the tent. Easy for two but messy for one and would be difficult if weather conditions were not ideal. Once the fly is on, there is little ventilation in the tent. Unfortunately, apart from the front door and a poorly designed roof vent, there is no facility for getting fresh air into this tent. It would be unbearable in summer. This is the first kit that I have bought from Kathmandu that I actually hate and regret buying. Too late to return now, unfortunately. So unhappy
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bought for my daughter and she is loving it. Couldn't buy a better one in this price
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Tent We used this tent for traveling in New Zealand. We took it home after our one month holiday because it lookt like new. We never got wet in this tent.
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put up & a very comfortable tent! I brought this tent to use at the Kathmandu Coast to Coast this year and I was really impressed how quick it was to set up and it was spacious and comfortable inside. Would def recommend.
Date published: 2020-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great valus I bought this tent over a month ago great size for hiking and camping still to test in a storm I am sure it will surprise me and come through
Date published: 2019-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choice Been camping with the tent for 2 weeks now, totally happy with it. It can stand strong winds and heavy rain.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, basic 2 person tent Great entry level tent, I did notice the fly and tent inner touched and we had quite a bit of condensation on the groundsheet which made us a bit damp in cold weather, but easy to put up and a good little starter.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing tent This tent is perfect for 2 people and a little baggage. You can sleep comfortably in it and it also has 2 mesh pockets to keep some stuff in it. Pitching the tent is not to complicated and take aroun 20minutes maximum. It is good value for money
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for Money Superb little tent, very easy to carry and can fit inside a tramping back pack. Had adequate ventilation via there rear window and front door. Very easy to set up in the rain and wind, is perfect for one person with a bag or two with no gear
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put up! Super easy to assemble, got stuck in pouring rain the first night and no leaks! Little bit smaller than I was expecting, but great for one person.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little tent Bought my son this tent for Christmas. He went away with it and used it during a huge storm with high winds, whilst his friends tents blew away, the retreat 40 remaind strong and waterproof , so much so that he didn’t realise how bad the storm was for a while as he was tucked up inside safely!
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big for a 2 man Bought it about 3-4 months ago and been very happy. It feels solid and is very spacious for a 2man (though fits 1 comfortably). Easy to set up and can handle rain and strong winds like it was nothing. Only con is it is a bit heavy but then again its material is thick and strong.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't withstand a QLD Summer I've had this tent for 2.5 years and go camping regularly. It's great until Summer hits where the poles split and snap in a day. I'm onto my third set of poles which have splintered on the first use. I went in to see if I could purchase some aluminium poles for this tent but was advised that was not possible. Disappointing as it is a great two person tent that I set up and put down on a road trip every night for 6 weeks with ease.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble- mini inside This tent is lightweight and easy to assemble. I was under the impression that 2 man tent would provide room for 2 people and at least a backpack each - I was very much mistaken. This is effectively a 1.5 man tent, you can have two people comfortable on sleeping mats but no bags in the tent OR 1 person and bags. It’s a bit tight and could easily do with a bit more floor space. Had I known it would be so cramped then I would have made other life choices. Material is fine, packing down is easy and the age old “how do I fold up the fly” remains. All in all if the tent is for one person it would be fine, if you have 2 and none bags it’s ok, 2 people and backpacks or bigger - you’re going to need a bigger tent.
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put up.... but too heavy for tramping Took this tent on an overnight tramp. Was easy to put up and really roomy, but way too heavy for carrying on the back of my pack for a long walk.
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Both poles snapped within 2 days Bought this for our 2 girls and unfortunately both poles snapped on the 1st and 2nd days of our camping trip so we returned this tent for a refund.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic tent!! Bought this tent 2 weeks ago. went on camping with it for 4 days. it rained continuously while we were camping. however the tent has rain proof layer and it worked really well. would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for basic tent for solo trip. even though it is a 2 person tent, the space becomes a bit tight when we try to set up our double air bed. definitely a good purchase.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lite and durable Borrowed the previous model which suited my needs. Purchased the new model. Quality build and lite to carry. Easy to erect. For wet or hot days I recommend buying the purpose made shelter for the tent. Extra space to keep dry or cooler
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking tent Unfortunately one of the tents we bought already has a broken string in the pole, it is impossible to repair the string, as there is no room for a knot to pull through. I have had these tents before and they have been great. The Zips normally give out before anything else and that was after a lot of use.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken pole, no replacement available Two weeks into a month long camping trip one of the poles broke with normal use (no particularly windy weather, or excessive force used). When I went into a store to buy a replacement pole for the remainder of the trip, it turns out they don’t currently stock them and there are none available in the country. They may or may not be available again in the future, and it may not be for months. Other than that, decent tent, but I cannot recommend it.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple and Great Super easy tent to put up. Good features like pockets for phones and wallets and hanging section for lamp in centre. Used it in Australian summer - temps were great. Haven't tried it in the rain or cold.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best camping tent for a couple A very stable and highly recommended if you are going on a day trip or good enough for a couple of nights. Enough room for two people
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent for 2 I have used the tent over last weekend camping at Bruny Island. It was very convenient to pitch and pack. Thank you Kathmandu for your special camping gift! Very good air ventilation because of windows. Easy opening zippers! Perfect product!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Sturdy. Bought this tent online on Christmas eve, it arrived 4 days later. It takes roughly five minutes to set up, and it held its ground steady during heavy downpours over new years. It's light, compact, and so simple, it's bliss. Only slight downfall are the pegs (pretty easy to bend, but hey, most pegs are and replacements are cheap enough) It's not a really big issue thus it still gets 5 a 5 star rating. Nice interior pockets as well. Great job Kathmandu.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from trusty & durable - compact; perfect for hiking - very strong and durable - managed to keep us safe and warm on the cliff of a mountain, inches from a sheer vertical drop! (photo attached) - also very easy and quick to set up and dismantle!
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal Haven’t even opened it yet but I’m sure it’s good quality
Date published: 2017-12-12
  • y_2021, m_6, d_13, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_61
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87151_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 237.39ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;