1. Retreat 80 3 Person Tent

Retreat 80 3 Person Tent

Unavailable for shipping outside New Zealand, Australia, United Kingdom & United States
$399.98
Members Price $239.99
or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 80 3 Person Tent is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 40.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_37
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87152_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 248.77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Quick Overview

The Retreat 80 is the perfect weekend getaway tent for couples who want comfort and space to store their gear. Both front and rear vestibules offer storage for packs and other gear, while the unique top-arching pole maximizes interior living space and head-room. This tent is waterproof, durable and easy to pitch, with great air-flow, quick-zip windows and insect-proof mesh for extra comfort. Need a tent and gear spray to keep your tent water repellent?

Measurements
Sleeps 3
Doors 1
Vestibules 2
Overall Dimensions L 395cm x W 230cm
Internal Height 138cm

Composition
Fly Fabric: 75D/185T Polyester Taffeta, Flame Retardant, UPF 50+ Water Repellent Treatment , PU coated
Fly Rating 3000mm

Inner Fabric: 68D 185T Polyester with Water Repellent Finish

Groundsheet 180gsm PE Tarpaulin, 100% Polyethylene
Groundsheet Rating 2000mm

Poles: 8.5mm-9.5mm Fibreglass

Weight 7kg

Tent Pitching Instructions
Watch Video
Download PDF

  • Waterproof seam-sealed flysheet
  • Durable fibreglass poles
  • Breathable inner with water-repellent treatment
  • Insect proof mesh doors, vents and windows
  • Quick-zip U windows
  • Front and rear storage vestibules
  • Internal storage pockets
  • Lantern hook
  • Reflective detail and guy ropes help guide you home at night
  • Configure Wing shelter compatible (sold separately)
  • Includes repair kit

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making the experience even more fantastic! I bought my Retreat 80 at the end of February. I do absolutely love it. Worked perfectly for my holiday. I used the videos on setting up the tent before I went away. I suggest you provide videos on how to pack the tent after use as this would place you ahead of competitors. It also supports one of the main reasons for purchasing this type of product: it is small and as the customer I need it to continue to be small. Right now it is not packed in its original bag. This is a big problem that I need to solve so that it remains a fantastic purchase. Cheers!
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Test run for forthcoming trip. Easy as. Followed YouTube video & could not go wrong. Only ‘issue’ is connecting Configure Shelter. Waiting for Kathmandu to respond with clearer instructions or am I missing something?
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My fav bits The tent fits back into the bag with extra room for a tarp or two! And the fitted, clip on porch tarp - yayyyyy. Tent is great too - one zip sticks a bit, like sewer sneezed at that moment.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grate Wee Tent This is a super wee tent. Luxury for one camping at the beach but easily big enough for 3. Easy to put up and take down and really roomy inside ~ Love it !
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Very good item as expected. Good quality, very easy to set up
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so easy to put up and take down Purchased tent for teen age daughter Quick and easy to put up and down Sleeps 2 on air beds Carry Bag for tent split along seams on 1st use Great little tent but carry bag could be more of a durable material
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great two man tent Great tent. Held up amazing in the wind and rain. Nothing leaked! Very good ventalation .
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong and dry tent The tent held up in sun rain and gale force wind. I would definitely recommend. We managed to get a queen size inflatable mattress in there with room for our bags and food. Only negatives were the quality of the stitching as the bag tore at the seams before it had arrived.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Tent. Easy to put up and Pack away This is my second Kathmandu Tent, my first was a Mono which is a great one person hiking tent, however it is very small and no head height. The Retreat 80 is much larger and will be very comfortable as it has both a front and rear door for great air flow and access. Some minor criticism the cloth ties to hold the fly to the frame are difficult to tie and untie, the MONO has neat velcro ties which are easy to use. Also the top vent whilst having a strip to try to lift/open the vent is ineffective again the MONO has these neat little velcro ridge strips that open and hold the vents open nicely. Overall I am happy with both the MONO and the Retreat 80 the MONO a perfect hiking tent and the Retreat 80 a large and comfortable camping tent.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very smart looking tent , great colour I bought this tent for my son for Xmas who lives and works in Kaikoura. He informs me that it is a great tent, easy to assemble and looks good when erected. Only downside is its a bit heavy to carry when you are trekking/hiking any distance. I didn't look into the weight when I bought it as my main feature to look for was that it would be waterproof while sleeping 2-3 ppl and I believe it will be. Company was great to order through and Web site easy to navigate around plus it was delivered swiftly.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid tent that can easily be put up by one person Straightforward design, good height (not standing room, but plenty of space to get changed) and simple to put up - I did it on my own with no trouble. It coped with heavy rain and quite strong wind with no leaks or collapses. Two small cons: the pegs bend easily, so stop hammering the moment you sense resistance; there's no give at all in the bag, so you'll need to roll and fold everything perfectly to get it all back in.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it We have used this tent with 2 adults and two small children.!! Great tent. We love it
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it !! Just so easy to put up and pack away, small enough to take but big enough to sleep.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC COULDNT ASK FOR MORE fantastic! design is amazing and very well thought out, the t shape pole keeps the fly taught and prevents puddling of rain water when set up properly, Kathmandu is the only name in tents I would trust after some of my experiences. great job guys happy travels
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible upgrade on old model. I bought this tent to replace the Retreat 60 I had stolen. The retreat 60 was a great tent for the price and design was good. Thinking that the 80 was the same tent just renamed I bought it straight off the shelf. When setting up noticed the design changes that had occurred. Bad ideas guys. The new front "T" pole design is terrible. The tent pulls on the inner door zips so hard that we feared we would tear the zipper apart in many places, having to pull hard on both sides off the door to get enough slack to close zip. I have spent countless months of my life camping and know bad design opposed to poor set up. Over the next week of camping tryed several different pegging and guy configurations only to be left with the same issue. Next. The fly on the door flap have way to much material between the corner off the tent and the next peg towards the opening hence a huge slack spot of fly material that flapped annoyingly so in the smallest of breezes and when it rained delivered water straight onto the "dry zone" of the front vestibule. Next. When it rained, we got wet. Water ran from the apex of the fly toward the rear of the tent then straight into the tent. 3rd night camping we got wet. I was furious. Needless to say, extremely disappointed with the "upgrade" to the old tent. I have returned my tent to the place of purchase and been refunded.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tent for family I bought this one last year. Its super comfy for a small family, 3 persons and 1 kid. The tent is strong and easy to setup.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to put up and roomy too! Epic little adventure tent that we just keep in the back of our truck for our spontaneous adventures. Super quick to put up. Just as quick to pack down!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wind and rain The tent leaked, but it was very strong wind and horizontal rain. Lots of people packed up their tents and went home. I wish the entry to the door had more of a over hang cause the rain falls straight into the tent when you open the door. Otherwise great tent for summer camping and light rain
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 18yr old son loves it I brought this tent for my son for xmas. Hes currently using it at Falls music festival and text that it was so easy to put up... ( which is good because he tends not to read instructions.. typical male!)
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Weekender For Two Due to conflicting work weeks, my partner and I have to have two night getaways. We decided on this tent because it was not too big and not too small...I am a solid 5'10"... and it's great! Fits a double air mattress with room on the sides... and shoes etc can be left in the front vestibule. The high ceiling makes it seem quite spacious. It took 10 minutes to put up (brand new out of bag) so very easy. It did not rain, so no test there, but it did keep the sandflys out!!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tent This tent was a Christmas present for our son. He loves it.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick shipment This tent is the best investment I have ever made! Use it for camping, extra family members in my backyard!
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tent went camping with this tent and my family. it withstand pouring rain and overnight wind, and everyone had good and dry sleep. outer shell is water resistant
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so awesome! I love this tent so much I went and bought one for my friends. A little expensive though...:(
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value Car Camping Tent Bought for long weekend car camping for one of two. Great value, well made, and good design. East to put up, even in the dark. Very pleased
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Easy to assemble and it past the crazy windy and raining test it went through during my camping trip! :))
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great tent. Recently spent a week away in my Rtreat 80, a surprisingly roomy tent. I also had the optional wing attached which made even more room. It stood up to several days of howling Nor'westers without problems. There were a few drops getting into the tent when it rained for 2 days on end. Especially around and the zip on the front door, exactly where my Retreat 60 leaked :-(
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good tent My first camping day was raining, this is very good product. Perfect for 2 ppl.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installation success! I bought this product a month ago and couldn't be happier with my split decision purchase. Easy and quick installation, strong and sturdy. High winds were around during my recent camp and the tent stood secure.
Date published: 2016-01-05
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_37
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87152_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT