1. Retreat 40 2 Person Tent

Retreat 40 2 Person Tent

$199.98
Members Price $119.99
or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 40 2 Person Tent is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 50.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_44
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87151_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 277.51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Quick Overview

The Retreat 40 is the ideal compact, two person tent in which to rest after your daily adventures (or for kids who want a separate tent from mum and dad’s). It’s waterproof, compact, durable and easy to pitch, with ventilation and insect-proof mesh screens and a unique top-arching pole that maximizes head-room and living space. Need a tent and gear spray to keep your tent water repellent?

Measurements
Sleeps 2
Doors 1
Overall Dimensions L325cm x W 155cm x H 165cm
Internal Height 116cm

Composition
Fly Fabric: 75D/185T Polyester Taffeta, Flame Retardant, UPF 50+ Water Repellent Treatment , PU coated
Fly Rating 3000mm

Inner Fabric: 68D 185T Polyester with Water Repellent Finish

Groundsheet: 180gsm PE Tarpaulin, 100% Polyethylene
Groundsheet Rating 2000mm

Poles 8.5mm-9.5mm Fibreglass

Weight 4.7kg

Tent Pitching Instructions
Watch Video
Download PDF

  • Waterproof seam-sealed flysheet
  • Durable fibreglass poles
  • Breathable inner with water-repellent treatment
  • Insect proof mesh doors and vents
  • Internal storage pockets
  • Lantern hook
  • Reflective detail and guy ropes help guide you home at night
  • Configure Wing shelter compatible (sold separately)
  • Includes repair kit

Customer Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble- mini inside This tent is lightweight and easy to assemble. I was under the impression that 2 man tent would provide room for 2 people and at least a backpack each - I was very much mistaken. This is effectively a 1.5 man tent, you can have two people comfortable on sleeping mats but no bags in the tent OR 1 person and bags. It’s a bit tight and could easily do with a bit more floor space. Had I known it would be so cramped then I would have made other life choices. Material is fine, packing down is easy and the age old “how do I fold up the fly” remains. All in all if the tent is for one person it would be fine, if you have 2 and none bags it’s ok, 2 people and backpacks or bigger - you’re going to need a bigger tent.
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put up.... but too heavy for tramping Took this tent on an overnight tramp. Was easy to put up and really roomy, but way too heavy for carrying on the back of my pack for a long walk.
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Both poles snapped within 2 days Bought this for our 2 girls and unfortunately both poles snapped on the 1st and 2nd days of our camping trip so we returned this tent for a refund.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic tent!! Bought this tent 2 weeks ago. went on camping with it for 4 days. it rained continuously while we were camping. however the tent has rain proof layer and it worked really well. would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for basic tent for solo trip. even though it is a 2 person tent, the space becomes a bit tight when we try to set up our double air bed. definitely a good purchase.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lite and durable Borrowed the previous model which suited my needs. Purchased the new model. Quality build and lite to carry. Easy to erect. For wet or hot days I recommend buying the purpose made shelter for the tent. Extra space to keep dry or cooler
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking tent Unfortunately one of the tents we bought already has a broken string in the pole, it is impossible to repair the string, as there is no room for a knot to pull through. I have had these tents before and they have been great. The Zips normally give out before anything else and that was after a lot of use.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken pole, no replacement available Two weeks into a month long camping trip one of the poles broke with normal use (no particularly windy weather, or excessive force used). When I went into a store to buy a replacement pole for the remainder of the trip, it turns out they don’t currently stock them and there are none available in the country. They may or may not be available again in the future, and it may not be for months. Other than that, decent tent, but I cannot recommend it.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple and Great Super easy tent to put up. Good features like pockets for phones and wallets and hanging section for lamp in centre. Used it in Australian summer - temps were great. Haven't tried it in the rain or cold.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best camping tent for a couple A very stable and highly recommended if you are going on a day trip or good enough for a couple of nights. Enough room for two people
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent for 2 I have used the tent over last weekend camping at Bruny Island. It was very convenient to pitch and pack. Thank you Kathmandu for your special camping gift! Very good air ventilation because of windows. Easy opening zippers! Perfect product!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Sturdy. Bought this tent online on Christmas eve, it arrived 4 days later. It takes roughly five minutes to set up, and it held its ground steady during heavy downpours over new years. It's light, compact, and so simple, it's bliss. Only slight downfall are the pegs (pretty easy to bend, but hey, most pegs are and replacements are cheap enough) It's not a really big issue thus it still gets 5 a 5 star rating. Nice interior pockets as well. Great job Kathmandu.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from trusty & durable - compact; perfect for hiking - very strong and durable - managed to keep us safe and warm on the cliff of a mountain, inches from a sheer vertical drop! (photo attached) - also very easy and quick to set up and dismantle!
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal Haven’t even opened it yet but I’m sure it’s good quality
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best 2 person tent It was easy to set up and easy to pack up and best looking tent i ever had
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tent I bought this tent the other week just for myself. Went camping and on the first night it poured rain and was quite windy as well. It held up pretty strong with no leaks and stayed put. Easy enough to assemble with 1 person and personally there was enough room for me and my gear. Not sure how two people with bags would go though. Little hook at the top for a light which was perfect but I feel like there could be some more ventilation. It was good as I had cool temps but in summer I can see this tent getting a bit hot. Overall for the price (I bought at a discount) I think it's great.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best affordable tent ! I bought this tent for my first camping ever. This tent was so easy to erect that it took us 20 mins and everything was set. Its in the middle of winters and this tent did more than or expectations against high wind and a lot of rain. Good head room and doesn't feel small at all. Pockets inside the tent are very helpful. Really happy with the product. Must buy for 2 people.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent, so beast to set up and real quality Love the colour coordinated poles as it made getting it up so easy! Brilliant tent. Lived it :-)
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The poles broke It's an ok tent but two poles broke within 6 months with only normal use
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent tiny tent Tent is everything you could ask for with the comparatively low price. Easy to set up, and durable. We pitched ours, and experienced heavy wind and rain that night. No leaks and the tiny front vestibule kept things dry enough (though I wouldn't rely on it). Fits a double bed, but not a queen so don't expect it to be too large. If you have two people, you will need somewhere else to store things as there was only 20cm gap between the foot of the double bed and the door. Nice hook at the top of the tent to hang a light which was useful. Not much in the way of ventilation. The back vent is tiny, but large enough to let rain in if you don't pop it down properly. TL;DR The tent is good, especially for the price. Would buy again.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wet weekend! We just spent a very wet weekend away in this tent. It rained heavily all night but we stayed perfectly dry. Quick to assemble this is a great tent.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for money I've been camping twice with this. Perfect weather every time so can't comment on how it holds up in wind and rain yet. But the airflow is surprisingly good, zero condensation so far (I sleep in it alone though, might be different with two people). Easy enough to put up alone and packs up nice and small, fits in my suitcase easily. Those were the two most important things for me.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent Great tent. Great for weekend getaways with the family.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Tent I purchased this tent in early Feb for Waitangi Weekend in the Abel Tasman. It worked an absolute treat, was a bit cosy but was perfect for what we needed it for. Super easy to put up as well! Will be using it again in Easter :D
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little tent I bought this tent recently and it's had one outing so far, it didn't have to stand up to any weather, but was easy to assemble and pack away. For the price, I think it's a great little tent
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Travel Tent! Super EPIC travel tent, so easy to erect and disassemble very fast and smooth. Very affordable amazing value for money!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great the strings are easy to use large enough for 2 peoples with extra space between
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical, efficient and comfortable I bought this tent for a lightweight, convenient piece for hiking. Its easy to pack into a car or backpack, was extremely easy to set up and has enough room for 2 to sleep comfortably and a little annex at the front to keep your shoes dry and protected at night
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better in the flesh! Was advertised perfectly and when it arrived it was exactly as i thought it would be and the quality exceeded my expectations. I have so much faith in kathmandu products and look forward to buying more gear made by kathmandu
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 person tent I have purchased this as a christmas present. It's exactly what I wanted, packs away nicely, good and compact. Great quality
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good tent. This tent was really easy and fast to set up, took us about 20 mins the very first time doing it. It is the perfect size for 2 people and had a decent height inside as well for some head space. Got this at 50% off so highly recommended if you can grab it for that price.
Date published: 2016-04-29
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_44
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87151_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.01ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT