1. Retreat 280 5 Person Module Tent

Retreat 280 5 Person Module Tent

Unavailable for shipping outside New Zealand, Australia, United Kingdom & United States
$1,199.98
Members Price $719.99
or 4 easy payments with
Retreat 280 5 Person Module Tent is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 33.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_13, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_31
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87154_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 236.26ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Quick Overview

The Retreat 280 5 Person Module Tent is a home-away-from-home that can travel the countryside with you. It’s ideal for growing families, with two fully enclosed rooms and a spacious living space with roll-away divider to create additional gear storage space or a third room. This tent provides spacious comfort on camping holidays, with plenty of clever features, like a star-gazing window and solar-charging pocket. Need a tent and gear spray to keep your tent water repellent?

Measurements
Sleeps 5
Doors 3
Vestibules 2
Overall Dimensions L 590cm x W 275cm

Composition
Fly Fabric: 75D/185T Polyester Taffeta, flame retardant, UPF 50+ Water Repellent Treatment, PU coated
Fly Rating 3000mm

Inner Fabric: 68D 185T Polyester with Water Repellent Finish

Groundsheet: 180gsm PE Tarpaulin, 100% Polyethylene
Groundsheet Rating 2000mm

Poles: 11mm-12.7mm Fibreglass

Weight 24.3kg

Tent Pitiching Instructions
Watch Video
Download PDF

  • Waterproof seam-sealed flysheet
  • Durable fibreglass poles
  • Breathable inner with water-repellent treatment
  • Ventus cooling system: controllable internal vents
  • Star-gazing window
  • Solar charging ceiling pocket
  • Zoned lighting areas: darkened inner rooms and lightened living spaces
  • Unique structure maximises the amount of interior space and head-room
  • Front and side awning doors can be poled out to create a porch area
  • Quick-zip U windows
  • Insect proof mesh vents, doors and windows
  • Magnetic lighting compatible (magnetic lights sold separately)
  • Lantern hooks with cord keepers
  • Integrated storage pockets
  • Reflective detail and guy ropes help guide you home at night
  • Compass Hub shelter compatible (sold separately)
  • Configure Wing shelter compatible (sold separately)
  • Includes repair kit

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tent! We bought this tent last week, and just did a trial run over the weekend in our backyard, before heading to the camp site. I must say that, being October, the main bedroom is soooo cold that you need several blankets to have a good night sleep... It was 7 degrees at night and we had to wear something in our heads as well. Main reason for this is that the main room is only mesh, the only actual cover is the flysheet, so I guess that this tent is great for the Australian summer, but not sure if it's good for New Zealand's summer... I guess we'll have to wait and see. Another option could be to sleep in the main living room, since it's fully enclosed with mesh plus fabric due to the side doors and bedroom's door, so I guess we'll check weather before going to sleep to decide which room is going to be our actual bedroom. Having said that, the tent is roomy, comfy and really easy to put up and down, but you'll certainly need two people to do it (can be done by one, but risking to damage the fabric). It has plenty of pockets (doors has their own pockets for storage), clips for lightning and magnets for metal or magnetic lights which is great. The star-gazing window is great, but sadly it's made of mesh, so you can feel the dew entering your tent at night... It would have been great if it was the clear PVC they put on the solar-charging window. Another concern will be the dust... Having all mesh in the main bedroom I thing if won't stop dust from going into your bed, and I can't imagine if it's cold and windy... Prepare some emergency blankets just in case. So, to sum up, it's a great, spacious and comfy tent for families, real easy to put up and down, however I think it has some design flaws that should have been considered for New Zealand, specially with that price tag
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tent! An awesome tent that's easy to pitch and should last a long time. - Colour coded poles for ease of pitching - Buckle down fly to help position it correctly - Plenty of places to hang torches including magnetic pads - Great ventilation - Fits easily into the bag after use - Great durable quality - 100% Water Proof - Connects with the Retreat Compass Hub nicely (highly recommended) - Doesn't take long at all to pitch. One small note. If this is for more than 2 Adults and you are considering this tent but don't mind spending just a little extra, grab the Retreat 320 Tent instead. It would be much more comfortable with the two full rooms rather than 1 and a half. It also connects to the Compass Hub more conveniently - common area to common area and the shape of the connected tent/shelter would fit most standard NZ camp sites where as the connected 280 and shelter probably will not. However, still a great tent! Cheers Kathmandu! You continue to impress me.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the finishing details First time out 6 days away was exactly what we needed
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a small family! We bought this a month ago and have used for two weekend camping trips - two adults and two kids. Perfect size, really quick and easy to put up and take down. We haven't experienced any bad weather in it (yet) but really pleased with it so far.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tent Great design. Simple to put up. Exactly what we wanted
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so easy to put up and take down Good sized tent found very roomy U tube videos of putting up and packing down very helpful making both processes so easy Lots of vents windows and doors great little shelf above bed and little pockets for storing small items 2 little door tags came away from door zips bit nothing major just replaced using 2 small zip ties over all very pleased with purchase
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tent overall except insulation in the back Good tent overall except the insulation in the back (near the main bedroom). Most of the tent windows and doors have optional screening to allow for full cover or optional ventilation but the back comes with only screening (no full cover) making it hard to sleep at night because of cold. This aspect needs redesigning, other than this i am very satisfied with the product.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I do like the tent but I dont like that you cant roll in the iner doors. Threy just lay there. Also seeing that the tent is cheaper now frustrates me brecause as a member I should get the best deal. We only took the tent camping once and one of thepockets ripped already.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this I brought this tent around a year ago and have been camping with it many times since. my husband is not a camper so it is just me and my kids and I have no problem putting it up by myself
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A brilliant tent - so enjoyable to use We bought this tent a few months ago now and have been away four times with it, each time enjoying it just that little bit more. It's extremely easy to put up (admittedly our first time was made slightly harder by being in the pitch dark in the middle of the bush) and take down and we enjoy discovering new things and features about it every time. It's also very practical with hooks, pockets, screens, vents, doors windows etc. in the most convenient locations. It does get a tad hot in the open sun but I would imagine any tent would. Having said this, its practicality allows you to achieve varying degrees of cross ventilation, through a combination of screens, doors, vents etc. Even though we're just a couple, there's ample room for our belongings. When it gets too cold of an evening, we just take the table and chairs indoors, we just love the spaciousness. It's also clearly very well built and will I'm sure withstand the test of time if looked after correctly. Indeed, part of the reason for getting this tent was to 'future-proof' once the little bubbas are on the scene! The awning is a lovely touch as well providing just enough cover for the two of us with a table and chairs. The only feedback we would give is that understandably, it’s quite a heavy tent requiring at times two people to move to and from the car for example when bagged. It would be great to see the next generation come with wheels on the bag, almost like a mini suitcase. Additionally, given there are so many cool features to the tent, it would also be useful to understand what some of these are. For example, there are multiple areas inside the tent featuring a lightbulb and magnetic symbol, and we’ve no idea what this is for!!! Probably us, but it would be cool for some of these features to be expanded upon, perhaps in the already useful instruction label attached to the inside of the carry case. We can't wait to take it on more adventures with more people and can only thank Kathmandu for providing a product that has allowed us to explore this beautiful country in such style and convenience.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect Brilliant tent easy to assemble, Lots of room, Lots of ventilation in summer however in colder climate make sure you throw in extra blanket as the inner section of the tent is mesh. This design provides no protection from the outs elements.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's nearly a great tent Most of the tent is designed well and functions as stated. However, having endured a very windy camping trip a couple of years ago, so windy that dust covered everything inside the partly mesh-walled tent, we were set on replacing it with a tent with an inner that could be sealed by solid walls, as well as mesh. We thought we had found it in this, but what you don't see in any of the photos is what the tent looks like without a fly. As it turns out, part of the roof of the middle room and most of the walls in the rear room (see photos) of the inner tent are just mesh, with no solid section to keep dust out - something that we couldn't find out until we had bought the tent. I'm also concerned about the longevity of the system that is used to attach the front door of the inner tent to the red section of the fly. As the red pole sits on the outside of the tent, the inner is suspended from the inside of the fly by a few elastic-strapped toggles. Surely, there is no way those few elastic straps will survive a reasonable length trip without being stretched, let alone keep their shape over years of use. I think it's a short-sighted design. The biggest disappointment by far, however, is the Configure Wing accessory. Another missing piece of information is the fact that the wing only attaches to the red door of the fly, and is not compatible with any other part of the tent. All that's good for is turning a 6m tent into a 9m tent which is much less versatile in smaller campsites. It also means you can't move the awning to suit the changing position of the sun or changes in wind position. I can understand its use for one of the smaller hiking tents, but it's just too small to be useful for bigger tents. All it requires is a few more eyelets around the tent to plug the Configure Wing into and it would have made the whole tent so much more practical. When you do hook it up to the red section, there is a large gap between wing and tent limiting its usefulness even further. Even if the Configure Wing could attach to other Configure Wings for extra roof space or walls, that would be super handy too. In its current form, it is disappointing and is only barely 'compatible' with this tent. Other small things: only 4 small storage pockets for gear is not particularly useful. The vent flaps could use a pocket to keep them out of the way. The storage net that hangs from the roof hangs under the mesh portion, so if you want to open the roof for ventilation, prepare for whatever is in that net to get baked by the sun. The little lips around each of the awnings that you see in the advertised photos and youtube videos don't seem to exist any more - our doors did not have any extra material to do that with. The 'darkened rooms and lightened living areas' blurb on the website can't be right as the main sleeping room has a roof made of mesh and isn't particularly dark.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of space with all the bells and whistles We have now camped half a dozen times with our Retreat 280 as a family of four and have been so impressed. It is compact enough for husband to put up with minimal help as I sip wine and plenty of room inside for all the gear as well as all the neighbours kids. Love the sky light and the pockets next to the bed to house my ear plugs. Thanks Kathmandu
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Yent I purchased this tent to go camping with my family, and it's wonderful. Sets up fast and stores away just as easily. Plenty of space without being too bulky
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love with our new set up Love the 280 - so easy to put up and get back in the bag We down sized from the 360 and added a hub was so worried about wasting our money but we are just loving the style and structure of the 280 Highly recommend adding the hub to it And totally say buy this tent Thank you for yet another great purchase guys
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size, perfect for me and the kids Bought this last month and used for a 3 night camp trip, was perfect we had rain and the size of the tent meant plenty of room to store all the food and gear along with room to comfortably sleep. Although big not too hard to install, my son who is 11 was able to assist me.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tent We bought this tent after having leaking trouble with Beyond tents.. 3 tents over a 2 year period. This tent works great and does not leak and has some great designs. The only design fault is the entrance points - The top of the door allows water to drain in when you open them because of the angle they are on. Still a good tent over all.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it.want another one! Awesome space for our family of five. We bought the two retreat bunk beds which created even more space. Held up well in the wind and so easy to set up and take down quickly.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nightmare Two broken poles, one causing a rip in the fly window. Plus Kathmandu windbreak with three bent poles and the bottom seam ripped off!
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional, spacious and good build. This is a great tent. We're a family of four and it was very comfortable. Lots of little innovative design features, which I'm still discovering after my first use.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy assembly and packs down easily too! Two camping trips (one where it rained heavily for 3 days) and it worked perfectly. no leaks and a little re-adjustmenting on the tension lines here and there made sure we had a great home from home. Getting the additional 'Configure wing was a great idea and only cost $60 in the sale. Meant that even in the rain we could eat and rest outside! Love it!
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Tent I bought this a month ago for my first ever camping trip, was very happy with it. only downside is when you pitch it up the internal walls become very stretched and very hard to zip up.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spacious yet still very easy to pitch We bought our 280 a couple of years ago now and have had many wonderful trips with it. It is spacious with all the features you expect and different options for organising your living quarters. Despite it's size it is quick and easy to pitch with a colour coded pole system.
Date published: 2015-12-29
  • y_2019, m_10, d_13, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_31
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_87154_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT