1. Footwear
  2. Style
  3. Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoes

Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoes

Please note

These sizes and measurements are a guide only. 

Kathmandu Men's Footwear

Euro 40 41 42 43 43.5 44 45 46.5 48.5
UK Men's 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 10 11 12 13.5
US Men's 7.5 8 8.5 9 10 10.5 11.5 12.5 14
Mondopoint 254 257 260 267 270 273 279 286 292
* The Mondopoint System: This is the same as measuring the foot (not the shoe) in millimetres (mm). To measure your foot using this system: Place your heel against a wall and measure from the back of the heel to the end of the longest toe.

Unisex Sock Size Chart

Unisex Sizes S M L XL
NZ/AU/UK 2-5 6-8 9-10 11-13
EU 35-38 39-41 42-44 45+
USA (M) 3-6 7-8 9-10 11+
USA (W) 4-7 8-9 10-11 12+
View sizing guide
Now $143.99
or 4 easy payments with

Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoes is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 89.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_78
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_33048_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 288.91ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Great for long walks

When you need one shoe to hike the castles and alpine trails of Europe, yet still look good on the streets of Geneva, pack the Strowan Men's ngx Hiking Shoe. This classic leather walking shoe features a Vibram® sole for durable comfort, and the waterproof, breathable ngx® liner helps keep your feet a little more dry when the going gets wet.

Composition
Upper: Hard-wearing Nubuck leather fabric upper
Outsole: Vibram™ featherlite sole
Liner: ngx™ waterproof/breathable liner

Weight
UK8 (single) 400g 

  • Rubber toe cap adds durability
  • Cordura™ fabric adds flexibility
  • Waterproof, windproof and breathable liner (ngx™) to keep you dry
  • Vibram™ featherlite sole for comfort and durable grip
  • Pair them up with Kathmandu socks for the ultimate level of comfort
  • Keep your footwear in peak condition with Granger’s care products

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 293.58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good shoes, great value Bought this shoe about a month ago and took it one trip around the South Island in winter. Proved to be worm strong and comfortable. Tread is not too detailed so that getting the mud out is not a mission. At $120NZ its a great value shoe that looks like it will last for years.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value for Money I purchased these about a month ago, I have worn them to work a bit and used them for a good long day walk from Waihi Beach, over to Orokawa Bay and up to the William Wright Falls. This track basically follows a stream/river which you essentially walk up (rock hopping to keep your shoes dry). For a shoe they provided good support, the sole is Vibram and provides a lot of grip. The insole is not the most comfortable for all day use...but at half the price of some big brand shoes, this shoe represents EXCELLENT value for money. So I'm very happy with these shoes.
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly comfortable I don't usually buy footwear online. I have a wide foot and high arch, and wear orthotics, so like to try before I buy. So was very pleasantly surprised at how well these hiking shoes fitted, and are super comfortable. They have a sturdy sole which is good for strolling along the beach front or day walking along bush trails. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hiking Shoe New shoe is so good. Feels like I’m walking on air. Round trips of 10km easy.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable , would definitely get them Would definitely buy them again . The comfiest shoes I've had .
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best shoes ever I have bought these shoes before and had to have another pair
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday wear I basically live in these. I wear them everyday and they are comfortable and very supportive.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from strong robust comfortable walking/work shoe this is the second pair of these i have purchased i work in the towing industry i'm on call 24/7 and required a strong capable work shoe the could be worn casually. These shoes have performed above expectations. Going out in the middle of the night to retrieve accident damaged vehicles in paddocks, on the side of the road or from the middle of the road in wild weather i knew i could walk with confidence and not come home with wet feet. purchase these with confidence knowing they can handle what ever you dish out i wore my first pair most days for 18 months. now the second pair should do the same.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing changed I bought a pair of these a some time ago. They've been OK, although not brilliant. The seams near the toes have come apart and the soles have worn quickly. Nevertheless, when I saw them on sale I decided to buy another pair. However, I found that the sizing had been changed from Continental to UK, and that fit was different. I wore my old pair to the shop so that I could make a direct comparison, and as noted by another reviewer, the shoes are much narrower. I came away empty-handed.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awesome shoe lacers, that's the Best feature. Brought a couple of months ago, I only wear them for 2 hours every couple of mornings and I rotate them with another brand of shoes. So you could say roughly 4 hours a week, not even. I use them for walking on road, footpaths and have used for extremely Lite! hiking, twice. But even the hiking was no more than 2 hours. Have also taken to beach and walked on sand. I've washed them with tap water, but they've never touched saltwater. I love them to bits, but they're falling apart, coming apart at the stitching and the wear on soles is ridiculous for how many hours they've put in. As much as I love them, I don't think I'll buy another pair, maybe a cheaper pair is a more viable option atleast for me. Cause I can't warrant spending how much these cost, even when on special, every couple of months for a product that should last atleast triple the time they've put in. As for the pictures. Both shoes have same problems in same spots. You can also see the date I purchased.
Date published: 2019-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from average I've bought 2 pairs when on special and both lasted less than 5 months each. The seam near the rubber front split on both and the rubber front peeled back a bit the first time they got wet. Expected better quality.
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all round shoe rugged and smart looking Bought these 2months ago very comfortable great shoe hoping to wear them to Antartica.
Date published: 2019-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2019 season's Strowan shrunk in width by a cm! Last year I bought Strowan shoes for my husband and just now bought a new pair for my son. He was surprised that they felt too narrow for his usual size 10UK. My husband, the same size, agreed. Size 11UK also felt too narrow. It was also too long, so we tried another pair of size 10UK hoping that it would stretch after use. However when, at home, I compared the new Strowan to the previous year's there was a visible difference in width which was quite shocking. It measured about 1cm narrower. My husband has narrow feet, my son has average feet, but definitely not wide. It's the same product number 33048, same size. Now we have to return the product which is very disappointing. I also read another survey here with the same experience. Is this just negligance on the part of quality control or a case of manufacturers trying to economize on materials or the result of a survey that Kiwi men's feet have shrunk in width?
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best fit and comfort! I have been wearing traveling/hiking shoes from another well-known brand for many years, and now I'm very happy to have bought Strowan Men's ngx at Kathmandu. It fits much better than any Columbia shoes I bought and has excellent quality.
Date published: 2019-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from strowan Men’s ng. hiking shoes They were too narrow so had to return them. No good if you don’t have a narrow foot.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality issues? They are really comfortable and I wear them most days to work, even though I work mostly in an office! But I do question the quality, didn't take long for the laces to break, (easy enough to replace) but now the stitching up the sides of the shoes has split open. if there was a warranty i would be looking for a replacement...
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from slippery shoes They look great but have a very slippery sole. I have slipped over twice wearing these and have torn a calf mussle
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boots I suffer from plantar fasciitis and was after some solid, comfortable outdoor shoes, and these have been great. Very supportive and weatherproof, they do exactly as they should.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wear This is 3rd pair shoes hushard has bought in 4 years comforted and wear well though snow rain sun day .keep your feet dry and warm
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good solid shoe Had for about a month, comfortable for long walks straight away. Warm waterproof. Good grip.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable shoe I brought these to do a lot of walking while on holidays and on advice they will stop sore feet.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and appear well made I bought these shoes recently and am still breaking them in. So far so good, very comfortable and smart. The only minor complaint is that the laces come undone too easily - I have to double tie them even for town use.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy plus! Recently purchased and haven't put them through their paces yet, but they fit snugly, are super comfortable and very light... could wear them all day.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Failed stitching... As others have reported the vertical stitching on the instep is a failure point....comfortable shoes otherwise but don't last long.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking shoes I like the look, comfortable first use, but most important will be the test of time, how durable as they purport this quality, hopefully back here in 2 years to add to this review
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable I bought a pair six months ago. The inners kept working their way out of the shoes while I was walking (after only about three or four kilometres). I tried various things including wearing two pairs of socks but no luck. In the end I bought new inner soles and they have helped, but shoes are still most uncomfortable I’ve ever had.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable I bought these hiking shoes a month ago and am so glad I did. Very comfortable and lightweight.
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality for narrow feet. Build quality is good and the shoes are comfortable right out of the box. But be aware that the style of the shoes means a narrow fit.
Date published: 2019-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoe I ever bought Never regretted buying this shoe. I would recommend it .
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great walking shoe I have had a brief opprotunity to try these shoes. They are comfortable and lightweight and I'm looking forward to testing them out in Japan at the end of the month as an all purpose walking/snow/leisure shoe
Date published: 2019-01-29
  • y_2020, m_9, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_78
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_33048_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 30.95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT