1. Camp & Hike
  2. Tents & Shelters
  3. Lansan Ultralight Tent

Lansan Ultralight Tent

$699.98
Members Price $489.99
or 4 easy payments with

Lansan Ultralight Tent is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 30.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_50152_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 253.56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Lansan Ultralight is perfect for people who want a weatherproof, lightweight and highly-spec'd tent, not a theme park with poles. This 2-person tent is designed for light and fast hiking, cycle-touring and travel. It’s simple and streamlined, with super-lightweight materials that meet our demanding performance standards, making it an excellent safeguard from the elements. Take it with you while tramping into the interior, or pack it up to explore new countries. This lightweight tunnel tent is quick and easy to set up, with DAC Featherlite NSL alloy poles. The breathable inner can be pitched on its own in fine weather, or combined with the waterproof, seam-sealed fly-sheet. An added vestibule means there’s plenty of space for two people and their gear. It’s everything you need, with nothing extra to weigh you down. Need a tent and gear spray to keep your tent water repellent?

Composition
Doors 1
Vestibules 1
Fly Fabric 20D Nylon Ripstop WR Seam-sealed
Inner Fabric 15D Breathable Nylon Ripstop WR
Floor Fabric 70D Nylon Taffeta WR
Fly Waterproof rating 1500mm
Floor Waterproof rating 10000mm
Poles 2 x 9mm DAC Featherlite NSL Alloy
Guy Lines 4
Pegs 14 x Alloy
Repair Kit Fabric patches, pole sleeve, fly buckle 

Dimension
Packed Size 14cm x 50cm
Packed Volume 7.2L 
Overall Dimensions 310cm x 125cm
Maximum Internal Height 97cm 

Weight 
1.72kg fully pitched
.99kg inner only pitched 

Tent Pitching Instructions
Download PDF

  • 2 person
  • Waterproof, seam-sealed fly
  • Lightweight materials
  • Streamlined tunnel design
  • Easy to pitch and pack up
  • DAC Featherlite NSL alloy poles
  • Alloy pegs
  • Breathable inner with water-repellent treatment
  • Tough waterproof floor
  • Insect-proof mesh screens

Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 222.76ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight AND Durable We bought this tent as we were about to embark on a Scandinavian camping trip. We needed a lightweight and durable tent that would be compact enough to fit into our hiking packs with 15kg of other gear. the Lansan Ultralight Tent was an absolute winner. Surprisingly roomy inside, we fit two people and two 65L packs. Our hiking boots aired outside the tent but under the fly. We managed to pitch the tent on both fine and windy weather, at dusk and in the dark, and we were kept bone dry when it rained overnight. My only comment would be that when we were camping at 3000ft and it was rather windy, the wind did get under the fly and into the tent. I was on the sheltered side so didn't feel it but my tent mate was chilly! Maybe we didn't secure the fly properly (as I said we did a few midnight pitches..). But even in that wind, the tent was securely fastened and never once felt like something would blow away. Didn't have trouble with pegs cracking as some have mentioned but did have a couple bend slightly. Nothing unexpected though.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy, strong and durable tent! My partner and I have used this tent many times in both the summer and the winter and its excellent! Its compact, lightweight (so perfect for long hikes), durable and waterproof! Everything you need in a tent. The only downside to it though is that its not quite a two person tent in my eyes. Im an averaged size guy and my girlfriend is quite petite and we struggle to have both of us in there, especially with all our bags and gear too which is a shame. But for just one or two nights it does the job and would recommend.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super light but does the job! I'm a full time travel photographer who is slowly, and reluctantly, getting into more adventure based trips and hiking. As I'm still building my fitness I am concentrating on adding gear to my kit that is super lightweight so that I can carry it all. haha. The Lansan Ultralight is ridiculously light but surprisingly fully functional. I probably wouldn't sleep two people in it but for me there was ample room for my gear and myself and I slept very comfortably. I used the tent in Chile in quite windy conditions with rain overnight and didn't experience any issues.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Light, Strong and Durable I got this tent wanting a Ultralight tent as I simply wanted to make by hiking bag as light as possible. I have used ultralight tents from other brands before and have not liked them as they ripped easily unlike this one. We took the tent into some pretty rough, windy, and cold conditions and it held up great and exceeded my expectations. We had winds over 100km/hr, rain, and snow all in the same night and the tent was fantastic. I honestly did not expect an ultralight to be so durable but this one proved me wrong.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed! At first glance, it looked tiny but once inside it opens up! I could easily put all my gear inside and still had plenty of room for myself. I slept in this tent for about 30 days, for 19 of those, it was raining very hard the only thing I struggled with was when it was raining, and I was learning to put the tent up it filled with water, but that only happened once. After I had known how to put it up, it was so easy it only has two poles so your not fiddling around with lots of different things. It would take me about 2-3 minutes to put it up entirely. It’s incredibly lightweight for its size and stood up to the test when the wind picked up. I spent one night on the top of a mountain in 70knot wind with sideways hail and snow. All night I was terrified it was going to tear it apart, but it didn’t, I woke up dry and safe. I was very impressed with this tent.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Compact and water proof, but poor quality pegs. I took this tent out for the first time on a 5 night hike in New Zealand. The tent was compact, easy to assemble and kept me dry in some wet conditions. However, disappointingly by the second time I assembled it the pegs started snapping when being hammered into the ground with a light weight plastic mallet. Only 2 spare we’re included in the original purchase, so as the pegs started snapping I was left short. While some split and could still be used, others completely broke, and I was unable to get them out of the ground. Luckily conditions were not windy, if they had of been the limited pegs may have become a much bigger issue.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive, but well worth it Just took this bad boy on my first hiking trip of all time (five day venture along the southern coast of Kangaroo Island on the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Trail). I have zilch experience in long-distance hiking. The most I'd done before was a 6 hour hike-- me and my mate were thinking we bit more than we could chew. Anyhow, after every exhausting day, when we were almost done and dead, this tent was: POSITIVES Quick and easy to pitch (though I stand by the recommendation that you should set it up at least once before taking the hike). Sturdy, against wind and rain (particularly on our first night. It was stable and made us feel very safe). Felt and looked awesome! The fabric, the stitching, the zips, the tent poles - it all felt, and looked, premium quality. Comfortable. NEGATIVES I noticed a little bit of fraying on the inside of the base tent, like especially where the mosquito mesh was. The tent bag attracted dirt easily (though I mostly carried it on the outside of my pack during our daytrips, so the dirt stained).
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tent I’ve found the Lansan tent super versatile and my go-to tent. At 1.72kg it is not ultra light but still light enough for 2 person MTB missions and I’ve been impressed with its robustness compared to other similar weight tents – it was excellent in withstanding strong winds and low temperatures while still having enough ventilation to be comfortable in hotter weather. I haven’t experienced torrential rain in it yet but it has stood up well to several good soakings overnight with no issues with shell or floor. It is quick and easy to pitch and is a good fit for 2 people plus gear and the main vestibule is big enough to stash a couple of packs and shoes out of the elements It is not freestanding so need to be able to peg out or tie off at either end so carrying a bit of extra cord can add to fixing options. It fits easily into the storage bag but unfortunately the bag doesn’t compress down to the smallest size the tent packs too so gets a bit messy if cramming into a tight pack
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! I used this tent during a cycling trip through West Africa and Europe for four months. It's easy to set up, a great size for one person (a bit small for two), durable, light and also really nice to set up without rain fabric. The light colour is great for warm parts of the world, but can get dirty easily.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit small Bought this tent for the overland track. Could not look at the tent erected in the shop but I had read some reviews and they all seemed positive. it was light (very light) that was good put it up at home a few times very easy to put up pull down and pack. overall quite good only 2 bad points. It is quite narrow so we had some problems finding sleeping mats that would fit we tried Kathmandu and even the sales man said it was a bit of an oversight. I am a bit of a shorty and my wife is shorter there was not enough room under the vestibule for our packs in fact we struggled to fit our boots and gaiters there so we had to put the packs inside with us I was cramped up all night although my wife had enough room just. I will keep the tent for solo hikes but we found it to small for two in my thoughts
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick I needed something relatively simple and easy to erect (with easy to follow instructions), sturdy, light and waterproof. Has ticked all the boxes so far - admittedly have only test driven in the backyard . Tassie Overland Track next week will sort it (and me)out though.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too bad But with hindsight, I would prefer a free standing tent that can be moved around eg. on a small bumpy site. And/or where the fly can be pitched first eg. in rain. Unless I'm doing it wrong.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm waterproof lightweight I bought this about a couple of months ago and have taken it on a week's camping trip. The tent was pleasantly lightweight with enough room for 2 adults and a small dog sleeping in the same direction without being too cramped (contrary to the instructions). It was surprisingly warm even during the coldest nights in winter. There was some condensation on the inside of the tent but not too bad that it was leaking. Overall, a good quality product. Hope it's durable.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best lightweight tent for the price Bought this tent in Febuary, used it for a 3 day 2 night hike to Snowy Mountains for Silver duke of ed practice hike in March. Camped near Lake Eucumbene in freezing temperatures, 60km winds and held up very well. Would suggest practising a few times putting up and down the tent before the outing as instructions were not to clear took about 30 to set it up the first time. Put it up on the hike in 15 minutes in the dark which is quite good in blowing wind. Very lighweight for a two man tent weights as much as a normal 1 man. Very compact only issue found some moisture can get in the inside the tent and when you touch the wall you can feel it, probably condensation. Excellent tent and will provide comfort for many more outings
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lansan stands up in terrible weather I have just spent 6 days hiking in the Grampians in Victoria. On the 1st night it rained a total of 55ml and did not get wet at all. Which surprised me. Worst luck it rained for the rest of the trip with high winds. This resulted packing the tent up in wet muddy conditions. Once again i was surprised as to how dry and how well the tent handled the conditions. Overall a solid light weight tent.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lansan tent very easy to use We bought this tent for a hike around mt ruapehu so being light weight was important. We hiked for 6 days and this tent was perfect. It is very easy to set up and we went for the option of leaving the fly attached so it was even quicker. Thankfully it didn't rain on us while we were on our trip but I was a little sad we didn't get to test the tent in weather. It stood up to a soak by the garden hose though when we cleaned it. Would highly recommend this tent, and would say it has been carefully thought out and constructed. We hope it lasts many years! The only thing that left me wondering was why we seem to need 2 more pegs? Maybe user error and I'm pegging something doesn't need it?
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from impressed Had mine for two years now. Impressed with internal volume/weight ratio. Was concerned that tunnel configuration would be inherently weak, but so far perfectly withstood 55km coastal winds and driving rain. Glad I was aiming into the wind though. My only concern would be performance in falling snow given that its not free standing without pegs, but otherwise would take it anywhere.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Hiking tent I took this tent on the South Coast Walk to test it. Even in exposed blustery and very strong windy conditions it held its own. Very impressed with speed of setup/pack up especially if the fly is left on. So impressive my daughter is using it in Europe on her backpack adventures throughout the spring and summer.
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light weight backpacking tent We used the Lansan on Tasmania's Overland Track on Easter break. It packed well was easy to put up, take down and kept use dry on some rainy nights. The screen material seemed somewhat frail as a fat possum obviously thinking he was the Easter Bunny put a large hole in the front door screen while trying to get in in the middle of the night thus allowing mosquitoes in. Otherwise it was a very good lightweight tent.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong and Light Tunnel type tent like this one is the best kind of tent for hiking. Strong, light, fast/easy to set up. As light as a single person tent.
Date published: 2015-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value Wanted a ultra light weight tramping tent, this fits the bill, so far early days but so good. Easy and quick especially is you don't remove the fly each pack-up. Good for two but super good for one and your gear.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully light and easy to set up! The tent really is a dream for hikers at about 1.5kg. I'm 6'3" and while it's tight, I managed to fit into the tent without issue. Sturdy and deals well with windy conditions. A great tent if perhaps a bit expensive off the shelf. Still, wait for a sale and there's nothing to worry about!
Date published: 2014-11-26
  • y_2020, m_8, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_50152_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT